Social Sciences Librarian
Can't find it?
Are you looking for a book or article that is unavailable at Georgetown and the Consortium? Use Interlibrary loan to request the item. Lauinger Library will obtain a book or scanned article for you.Get Answers
Quick Tips
- Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “queer theory”)
- Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
- Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
- Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar
Find Books & Articles
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowIndex to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues. LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
-
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCombines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowPublications focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas and include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization and special reports. The database provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are central to women's lives as well as topics on the impact of gender and gender roles.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
-
Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities."
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media. -
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowDatabases provided by EBSCO, including Academic Search Premier.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
-
HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
-
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowOver 100 million records for books and other materials in over 60,000 libraries. Items found in WorldCat may be requested through InterLibrary & Consortium Loan services.
