When is it ok to use copyrighted images in your creative and academic work? The College Art Association (CAA) has compiled a list of best practices for students, professors, writers, artists and art professionals to use in their work.
Carol M. Highsmith. "Rusty Bolt Store, Seligman, Arizona."2009. Carol M. Highsmith Archive, Library of Congress, Washington, DC, jpeg, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/highsm/item/2010630175/ (accessed March 17. 2015).
Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Images may be viewed live in ARTstor or offline in ARTstor's downloadable image viewer.
This image archive provides over 100,000 images of fine and decorative art; scope is all periods, movements, styles, and themes in the history of art. Artworks from public and private collections are represented.
Provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media: TV, radio, cinema, Internet, print and outdoor ad campaigns. Also includes over 18,000 advertising agency sources, news and other information related to the advertising industry. Users can search for ads by keyword, media type, product, brand name, business sector, agency, country, celebrity or award.
More than 90,000 textual descriptions and 8,000 digital images of thousands of art slides in the collection of the department of Art, Music and Theater. Database will eventually include other humanities-based images found in the University community (e.g., archaeology slides in the Classics department collection). Materials, text and image, are copyrighted.
The Maker Hub (located on the first floor of Lauinger Library) provides access to specialized tools, like 3D printers, laser cutters, and fabrication supplies. It is designed to help self-directed inventors and creative teams gather and share resources and knowledge. Among its tools and supplies, the Maker Hub has 150,000 fine art slides available for creative reuse.
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed media content. Wikimedia Commons has a page where you can browse all of their Creative Commons licensed images.
Streaming video of 1,000 documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. From Alexander Street Press.
Search more than 21,000 records of individual objects in the Georgetown University Art Collections. They include predominantly works on paper in addition to paintings, sculpture, and decorative objects. About a third of the records have accompanying images, with more added over time. The images are provided for study and academic use only.
Visitors are welcome to view accessible objects from the art collection. A prior appointment is strongly encouraged. Please note that many objects are in storage or in University offices and may not be readily accessible or available. More background on the collection may be found on the Art Collection home page.
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
The Getty makes available, without charge, more than 99,000 images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required, however images must be attributed to the Getty Open Content Program.
Browse the History of Medicine and Medical collections or the Digitized content."The Library's digital collections cover a wide variety of topics, including asylums, food, sex and sexual health, genetics, public health and war."
Over 100,000 high resolution historical images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements. Images available under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
This means that they can be used for commercial or personal purposes, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London). All of the images from our historical collections can be used free of charge.
Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of The Library, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.