Guides: ENGL 5312: Shakespeare, or What You Will (Kaplan): Home

Finding Books

HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.

Library Maps & Call Number Locations

Finding Scholarly Articles

Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) This link opens in a new window
ABELL is part of the Literature Online (LION) database and covers all aspects and periods of English-language literature, linguistics, folklore, drama, and cultural studies. Indexes literary criticism, book reviews, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published worldwide. Includes material in languages other than English. ABELL is linked to 325+ full text journals in the LION database.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated entries for articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia."
Also includes reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings. See the Johns Hopkins University Press guide to searching the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online at http://www.shakespeareans.org/pdfs/EWS_Online_Ref.pdf .
Location: Includes and expands upon the annual issue of Shakespeare Quarterly entitled World Shakespeare Bibliography.

Understanding Shakespeare
A collaboration between JSTOR and the Folger Shakespeare Library. The project allows you to look at any line of any Shakespeare play and view every article in JSTOR that references that particular line.

History Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
July 2023: Off-campus access to the OED is not working in certain browsers. More info.
The largest dictionary and the most complete historical record of the English language. Use for:
--How a word was used in a specific time period
--When a word or phrase (e.g., fagged out) was first used
--Where words come from (etymology)
--Sample quotations using a particular word