Limited to 8 concurrent users.A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
July 2023: Off-campus access to the OED is not working in certain browsers. More info.
The largest dictionary and the most complete historical record of the English language. Use for:
--How a word was used in a specific time period
--When a word or phrase (e.g., fagged out) was first used
--Where words come from (etymology)
--Sample quotations using a particular word
A record of American regional words, phrases, and pronunciations, based on a survey of 3,000 people in communities across the United States. Includes audio recordings, interactive maps, and insights into the DARE Survey.
The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional EnglishCall Number: Available Online AND Lau Ref Stacks PE3721 .P3 2013
A dictionary of the underworld : British & American, being the vocabularies of crooks, criminals, racketeers, beggars and tramps, convicts, the commercial underworld, the drug traffic, the white slave traffic, spivs.Call Number: Available Online and Lau Stacks PE3726 .P3 1968
An Encyclopedia of SwearingCall Number: Available Online AND Lau Ref Stacks PE3724.O3 H84 2006
