Literature Liaison & Reference Librarian
Melissa Jones
Contact:
Research Consultations are available in person and via Zoom. Click Schedule Appointment to reserve a time. Email me if you need an alternate time.
202-687-7595
Getting Access
- Interlibrary LoanUse to request materials not already available through Georgetown or the consortium. Click here for more information.
Finding Scholarly Articles
History
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles published in journals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400 to 1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowA bibliography of scholarship drawn from Medieval and Renaissance books, dissertations, and journal materials (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies). Covers the years 400 to 1700. Indexes publications from the mid-1800's to the present.
Literary Studies
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) This link opens in a new windowABELL is part of the Literature Online (LION) database and covers all aspects and periods of English-language literature, linguistics, folklore, drama, and cultural studies. Indexes literary criticism, book reviews, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published worldwide. Includes material in languages other than English. ABELL is linked to 325+ full text journals in the LION database.
Finding Books
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
Researching Historical Contexts Using Subject Headings
Below are examples of subject headings used in HoyaSearch. You can combine these with one another to find information about specific topics in particular time periods (e.g., England -- Social conditions AND to 1500). Be sure to select SUBJECT from the drop-down menu to the left of each search box to find these terms as subjects.
Subject Headings Related to Cultural History
- England -- Economic conditions
- England -- Intellectual life
- England -- Social conditions
- England -- Social life and customs
- Families -- England -- History
- Marriage -- England -- History
- Race -- England -- History
- Women -- England -- History
- Women -- Social conditions
Subject Headings Related to Time Periods
- Old English, ca. 450-1100 [specific to literature]
- Middle Ages, 500-1500
- Renaissance, 1450-1600
- Early Modern, 1500-1700 [specific to literature]
- to 1066
- 1066-1485
- to 1500
- 16th century
- 17th century
