Guides: Economic Data: International Data

Core Data Resources

IMF Data This link opens in a new window
A consolidated search portal for data complied by the IMF. Includes the ability to search by country/region and economic concepts.
To query data, follow these instructions.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations.
World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added.
Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.

UNCTADstat
Unilateral and bilateral country-level time series on international trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment (FDI), external financial resources, commodities and maritime transport.

International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Formerly World Debt Tables, this resource presents statistics on public and publicly guaranteed debt of 138 countries and regional and income groups.
International Debt Statistics (IDS), successor to Global Development Finance and World Debt Tables, is designed to respond to user demand for timely, comprehensive data on trends in external debt in low- and middle-income countries. The World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System (DRS), from which the aggregate and country tables presented in this report are drawn, was established in 1951. World Debt Tables, the first publication that included DRS external debt data, appeared in 1973 and gained increased attention during the debt crisis of the 1980s. Since then, the publication and data have undergone numerous revisions and iterations to address the challenges and demands posed by the global economic conditions.
WDI Online This link opens in a new window
Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

International Economic Trends
An annual presentation of key economic data since 1986, covering seven major industrial countries and the Euro area.

OECD.Stat This link opens in a new window
Contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Covers over 600 industries.