Librarian
Other Relevant Guides
Research Regarding Statistics
- Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences This link opens in a new windowFulltext encyclopedia covering the full range of statistical sciences, including biostatistics, quality control, economics, sociology, engineering, probability theory, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, and many other areas.
Data by topic
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowA free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. - SAGE Research Methods: Datasets This link opens in a new windowNot all datasets in this resource are included in Georgetown's subscription.
Over 500 datasets from government and academic sources, each demonstrating a specific analytic method. Both qualitative and quantitative examples are included. Part of SAGE Research Methods.
- Data.govUnited States open datasets
- Harvard DataverseA large collection of social science research data from the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard University.
- IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new windoweLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Freely available as of Jan 2020.
- OECD.Stat This link opens in a new windowOECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowOver 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
- World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
- The ARDA: Association of Religion Data ArchivesStrives to democratize access to the best data on religion by providing local, national, and international religious demographic and survey information.
- ArtnomeThe world's largest analytical database of known works across our most important artists. Provides datasets on the collections of MoMa, the Met, the Tate, the Carnegie Museum of Art, the National Museum Sweden, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, and the Yale Center for British Art.
- NADAC: National Archive of Data on Arts & CultureA repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations. Hosted by the ICPSR.
- Census AcademyOnline training videos to learn how to access census data.
- Opportunity InsightsThese datasets allow you to analyze social mobility and a variety of other outcomes from life expectancy to patent rates by neighborhood, college, parental income level, and racial background.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowThe iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations from the 1930's to the present.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can create a free account in order to save, share, and collaborate on maps and projects. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.
- World Bank Data CatalogThe World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
- Childstats.govFederal statistics and reports collected from 20 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
- Balance of Payments StatisticsReports detailed balance of payments data for current account (goods and services), capital account, financial account (portfolio or direct investment), and reserves. This statistical database includes historical data from all series appearing in the Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook (BOPSY) Country Tables (Part 1) and the World and Regional Tables (Part 2). The Methodologies, Compilation Practices, and Data Sources (Part 3) notes are available when selecting most country tables. The Co
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisProduces statistics to demonstrate the performance of the nation's economy. An agency of the Department of Commerce.
- Commodities PricesResearch and Information Network (MRIN) a sub scheme of ISAM was launched in March 2000 to provide electronic connectivity to the wholesale markets of the country. The objective is to collect, analyse and disseminate market information to the farmers, traders, Policy makers and other stakeholders. More than 3200 markets are covered under the scheme and more than 2700 markets are reporting data at Agmarknet portal. More than 350 commodities and 2000 varieties are covered under the scheme.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowFitchConnect integrates country risk, analysis of financial markets, and industry research, providing users with a variety of company and industry information including credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
- FRED - Federal Reserve Economic DataData search tool with easy-to-customize graphs. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis.
- International Economic TrendsAn annual presentation of key economic data since 1986, covering seven major industrial countries and the Euro area.
- Measuring WorthMeasuringWorth is a service for calculating relative worth over time of:
Annualized Growth Rates
Relative Values - US $
Relative Values - UK £
Relative Values - China
Relative Values - Japan ¥
Conversion ($ and £)
Purchasing Power - US $
Purchasing Power - UK £
Savings Growth - US $
Inflation Rates
Stock Growth Rates (DJIA, SP500, & NASDAQ) - Nasdaq Data LinkNasdaq Data Link is one of the world’s most diverse sources of market intelligence, as well as a powerful data infrastructure tool.
Note: the library does not have access to premium data. - National Bureau of Economic Research: DataDatasets used by researchers at the NBER.
- Penn World TableCross-country and inter-area comparisons of incomes, inputs, outputs, productivity, and prices.
- USASpending.govFind out how tax dollars are spent. Data on all types of financial assistance awards made by Federal agencies to all types of recipients, location, and by quarter.
- World Economics and Politics DataverseThe World Economics and Politics (WEP) Dataverse offers a rich collection of data amassed from nearly 100 of the most commonly used data sources related to the fields of comparative and international political economy.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowA free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- U.S. Department of Education Public DataED's public data listing in a web-enabled version featuring searching, filtering and links to additional downloads and resources.
- America's Education DataData Profiles from U.S. Department of Education
- American National Elections Studies (ANES)Why does America vote as it does on Election Day? The mission of the American National Election Studies (ANES) is to inform explanations of election outcomes by providing data that support rich hypothesis testing, maximize methodological excellence, measure many variables, and promote comparisons across people, contexts, and time. The ANES serves this mission by providing researchers with a view of the political world through the eyes of ordinary citizens.
- Election Administration and Voting Survey (EAVS)Since 2014 the Election Administration and Voting Survey (EAVS) has been combined into one report. Prior to 2014, the data were presented in three reports – the National Voter Registration Act (NVRA) report, the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) report, and the Election Day Survey. In addition, in 2008 the EAC began administering the Statutory Overview, which asks states a series of open-ended questions about their election laws, definitions, and procedures.
- United States Election ProjectThe United States Elections Project is an information source for the United States electoral system. The mission of the project is to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system.
- American Local Government Elections DatabaseWe introduce a new dataset of about 78,000 candidates in 57,000 electoral contests that encompasses races for seven distinct local political offices in most medium and large cities and counties in the U.S. over the last three decades. This is the most comprehensive publicly-available source of information on local elections across the country. We provide partisan and demographic information about candidates in these races as well as electoral outcomes.
- Environmental Impact Data Collaborative (EIDC)The Environmental Impact Data Collaborative (EIDC) enables community groups, policymakers and researchers to use data to learn, communicate and advocate on important environmental issues.
- EPA - Envirofacts Data WarehouseThis website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
- DataONEEnvironmental data
- HCUPnet Healthcare Cost and Utilization ProjectHCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.
- Health Poll DatabaseThe Health Poll database is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
- National Center for Health StatisticsCenter for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Financial Tracking ServiceReal-time database tracking all reported international humanitarian aid.
- Global Distribution of PovertyThe Global Poverty Mapping Project seeks to enhance current understanding of the global distribution of poverty and the geographic and biophysical conditions of where the poor live. Additionally, the project aims to assist policy makers, development agencies, and the poor themselves in designing interventions to reduce poverty.
- Human Development IndexU.N. According to the index, three parameters govern human development and quality of life: wealth, health and education. The wealth of a nation is measured this year by Gross National Income (it used to be measured by Gross National Product), health is quantified by citizens’ longevity (life expectancy at birth) and years of schooling indicate education.
- Human Development Report (UNDP) DataGender Development Index (GDI); Human Development Index (HDI); Inequality-adjusted Human Development Index (IHDI); Gender Inequality Index (GII); Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI)
- Americas Barometer This link opens in a new windowUsers must click on link "Enter site via IP authentication" to access.
AmericasBarometer is an effort by the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. The database contains country studies (reports and essays), questionnaires, and data sets which can be opened in any version of SPSS 13 or higher. - Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive is a longitudinal national data series and provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to 2012 for all countries with many variables of use to the social scientist researcher. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)Includes Country Commerce, Country Finance, Country Profiles, and Country Reports; some of these have monthly and quarterly reports, with annual overviews.
- Global Sanctions DatabaseThe updated GSDB (2021) covers 1101 publicly traceable, multilateral, plurilateral, and purely bilateral sanction cases over the 1950-2019 time period.
- UNCTADstatUnilateral and bilateral country-level time series on international trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment (FDI), external financial resources, commodities and maritime transport.
- UNDataUNData includes Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
- Voter Turnout Database - International IDEAWe facilitate dialogue on issues of democracy and publish comparative data and knowledge for anyone to use to improve their democracy. We analyse this data and produce several tools that can be used to strengthen democratic institutions.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsBLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor and collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data on topics such as inflation, wages and earnings, employment, and productivity.
- ILOSTATStatistics on worldwide labor, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts.
- Correlates of War ProjectSource data on the conditions associated with outbreak of war and militarized disputes. Includes data sets, and also articles and other secondary data sources
- ITERATE (International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events) This link opens in a new windowDetailed data about terrorist events worldwide, starting in 1968. 'The ITERATE project is an attempt to quantify data on the characteristics of transnational terrorist groups, their activities which have international impact, and the environment in which they operate.'
- Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC)The Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC) identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide.
- Uppsala Conflict DatabaseData on armed conflicts, trends, and peace agreements.
- American Institutional Confidence (AIC) PollThe American Institutional Confidence (AIC) Poll measures confidence in institutions and support for democracy in the United States.
- Five Thirty EightThis website, named after the number of electors in the electoral college, provides polling info, the return on campaign funds by state, and the electoral history of states.
- Lobbying RegistrationsFrom ProPublica, search Senate and House lobbying registrations. Search by an organization name, a lobbying firm’s name, an individual lobbyist’s name, policy issues or even the name of a Congress member a lobbyist used to work for.
- LobbyViewLobbyView brings transparency to the American political process. Datasets on lobbying by bill, report, client, and issue.
- opensecrets.orgWhere are Members getting their money? Contribution reports broken down by geographic area, and interest groups; personal financial disclosures, and more. Sponsored by the Center for Responsive Politics.
- Political Forecasting Special Interest GroupPublic opinion poll summaries and analysis.
- The Political Leaders’ Affiliation Database (PLAD)The Political Leaders’ Affiliation Database (PLAD) contains information on the birthplaces and ethnicities of the effective leaders of 177 countries around the world in the 1989-2018 period.
- Quality of GovernmentQoG conducts and promotes research on the causes, consequences and nature of Good Governance and the Quality of Government (QoG) - that is, trustworthy, reliable, impartial, uncorrupted and competent government institutions.
- United States Election ProjectThe United States Elections Project is an information source for the United States electoral system. The mission of the project is to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system.
- Worldwide Governance Indicators (World Bank)Aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212 countries and territories over the past decade, for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption.
- Data is PluralThis spreadsheet tracks the items published in Data Is Plural, a weekly newsletter highlighting useful and curious datasets. Put together by Jeremy Singer-Vine.
- Eviction LabThe Eviction Lab at Princeton University creates data, interactive tools, and research to help neighbors and policymakers understand the eviction crisis
- Replica This link opens in a new windowCurrent Georgetown faculty and students must sign up for a Replica account using their Georgetown.edu email address. Click on the "Sign Up" tab to create an account.
Replica is a cutting-edge platform that helps users access and visualize data about mobility, land use, and economic activity related to specific geographies. As such, this database is a tool of choice for professionals conducting research on the built-in environment, especially as issues of privacy and geo-located data enter into the professional practice of urban site analysis.
- Qualitative Data RepositoryThe Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives. The repository’s initial emphasis is on political science.
