Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and Geospatial Data: Geospatial Data

Intro to Geospatial Data

Geospatial Data is any type of data which has a spatial component. It is required for all GIS work. Geospatial data can range in complexity from a list of cities with an associated data point (like population) to satellite and aerial imagery. The type of geospatial data you need is driven by your research question and in turn the type of geospatial data you have will help you determine which GIS tool is right for your project.

DC Data Sources

District of Columbia Open Data
Provides 500 data sets from a wide range of DC government agencies. More data and related information are available from the Office of the Chief Technology Officer.

National and Global Data Sources

ArcGIS Online
Contains the largest collection of freely available of data files for use with ArcGIS. Also provides web-based mapping utility.
ESRI Data
ESRI data on demographics and consumer spending. Restricted to Georgetown University users.
National Map Viewer
From the US Geological Survey. Visualize, inspect, and download their most current topographic base map data and products
UVA Geospatial Data Portal
Discover, explore, and use collections of geospatial data from the UVA Library and around the world. Data records contained in this portal are searchable by geographic extent, keyword, and time, and you can quickly preview data with an interactive mapping tool.

EVGeoCloud This link opens in a new window
EVGeoCloud is a web-based platform that provides online access to catalogs of maps and geospatial data. Available datasets include:
--De Agostini WING
--Georgetown-Soviet City Plans
--ML Infomap India Dataset
--ML Infomap India- June 2014 Update Natural Earth II Raster
--Natural Earth- Cultural
--Natural Earth Physical
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can create a free account in order to save, share, and collaborate on maps and projects. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.