ENGL 2380: Young Adult Literature (Fuisz)

Database Searching is only one way to find sources - Books & Articles.  Scholars almost always also other methods to find sources.  These other methods work by using good sources you found through searching to find other sources.  This type of searching does not rely on keywords, and so may find things that searching did not.

There are 3 ways to use an article to find other articles on the same topic. 

• References / Bibliography - Look at the References at the end of an article.  These are the sources that the author used to make their argument.  You can look at those sources and potentially find other things in them that you can apply to your argument.   
• Citing Articles - You can find items that were written after the source you found was written that cite your source in their bibliography.  This is a way of following the conversation forward.  You can do this in either Web of Science OR Google Scholar. See below for more detailed instructions for each. 
• Shared Citations in Web of Science - Web of Science has a feature no other database has.  It allows you to find other articles that share several of the same sources in their bibliography that your key article has in its bibliography.  If 2 sources share references, they are probably on the same topic.  See detailed instructions below for this.

1.  Copy the title of the source onto your clipboard 
2. Open the Database Web of Science 
3. Paste the source title into the search box 
4. Does it comes up?
   • Yes, proceed with step 5 below
   • No, try the article in Google Scholar instead
5. Look for the Citations link to the right
   • If it is there - Click on it - This lists the citing articles - If these articles look interesting - Get them!
   • If it is not there - it means no one has cited this article yet. Though you can try Google Scholar instead.
6. You can also limit these if there are a lot using the filters or search within features to the left of the listings.

1. Copy the title of the source onto your clipboard 
2. Open the Database Google Scholar
3. Paste the source title into the search box 
4. Does it comes up?
   • Yes, proceed with step 5 below
   • No, Try Web of Science - if you already did that - then this method won't work for your article
5. Look for the Cited By option beneath the listing and Click on it.  Note, if the Cited By option is not there - then no one has cited this article yet.  You can also further limit these results by searching for other terms within these results

1. Copy the title of the source onto your clipboard 
2. Open the Database Web of Science 
3. Paste the source title into the search box 
4. Does it comes up?
   • Yes, proceed with step 5 below
   • No, then this method won't work on this source
5. Look for the Related Articles link to the right - under the Citations and References links - and Click on it 
6. This lists other sources that SHARE citations with your original source.  It lists the ones that share the most at the top.  If these look interesting - Get them!