Psychographic Data Tools
- MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new windowLimited to 10 concurrent users.
Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population. - Mintel This link opens in a new windowUsers must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries or create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Psychographic Research Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
- ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Tips on searching the databases
Unfortunately, searching the term "psychographic research" in the databases listed above will not yield many relevant results. To increase your probability of finding helpful psychographic research articles, try searching for a target audience combined with some of the psychographic research terms listed below.
-
Attitudes
-
Beliefs
-
Motivations
-
Behaviors
-
Values
The screenshot below highlights how you might search for psychographic research articles on attitudes, values, or beliefs of Generation X. Note how the search is organized using two rows combined with AND as well as the operator OR in between psychographic research terms. Using OR will let you search for multiple terms at once and will help deliver more results for your search.
Public Polling
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowThe iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations from the 1930's to the present.
- Pew Research Center This link opens in a new windowNote: Access to datasets requires that you create a free account on the Pew website. "A nonpartisan 'fact tank' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
- Gallup OrganizationThe Gallup Organization conducts polling and survey research. Search the site for recent polls on a wide range of national and international issues.
