Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DC Information & Data
- DC Data Catalog : Provides 500 data sets from a wide range of DC government agencies. More data and related information are available from the Office of the Chief Technology Officer.
- DC Map Library : DC Office of Planning provides street, ward, ANC, land-use, and historical maps.
- Community Health Indicators for the Washington Metropolitan Region : Report compiled by the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments.
- Advisory Neighborhood Commissions : The Advisory Neighborhood Commissions present neighborhood input to branches of the DC government on issues such as traffic, parking, zoning, economic development, police protection, and the city's annual budget.
- DC Deparment of Housing and Community Development : The mission of the Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) is to create and preserve opportunities for affordable housing and economic development and to revitalize under-served communities in the District of Columbia.
- About DC Schools : Data and reports listed here include student performance statistics. Additional information is linked within the Education Center on the DC Government website.
- American FactFinder : Data from 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.
- DC Municipal Regulations : through the Office of Documents and Administrative Issuances (ODAI), which is responsible for the publication of the District of Columbia Register (DCR), the District of Columbia Municipal Regulations (DCMR), and the Mayor's Administrative Issuances, which include Mayor's Orders, Instructions, and Memorandum. The D.C. Register is the official weekly legal publication for the District of Columbia government and includes D.C. laws, administrative rulemakings, notices, orders, and other items from the D.C. Council, the Mayor's executive agencies and independent agencies, charter schools, ANCs and other official entities of the District government.
- DC Office of Zoning : access case information, zoning maps and regulations.
- Neighborhood Info DC : Looking for data about your community but don't know where to find it? Find data in our DC neighborhood profiles in the following subject areas: population, well-being, housing, foreclosures, and schools.
Historical Sources & Special Collections
The People's Archive (Special Collections at D.C. Public Library)
D.C. Public Library's Special Collections (Washingtoniana, Black Studies, and the Peabody Room (Georgetown branch library)), house a comprehensive collection of material on Washington, D.C., from the late 18th century to the present, including the reference library, the photograph collections and the D.C. community archives, some collections are digitized in Dig DC
. Getting Started with Washington, D.C. History
is a good place to begin.
DC History Center
The Historical Society of Washington, DC, publishes Washington History and hosts programs and exhibits
. The Kiplinger Research Library
collects a wide range of materials documenting all aspects of Washington, DC, history.
The DC Public Library's digitized special collections.
GWU's Washingtoniana Collections
Capitalizing on Washington, DC’s diverse communities and its role as the nation’s capital, the Washingtoniana Collection of the GW Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) documents the city’s political, economic, social, and cultural history. This history of the District of Columbia covers the beginning plans for a federal city (1791) to the present day work to achieve DC Statehood.
Booth Family Center for Special Collections - fifth floor, Lauinger Library
Rare books, manuscripts, Georgetown University archives, and art collections, all available for student use.
Photos and Images
Call Number: NB 235.W3 G663 2008
A detailed listing of more than 500 Washington, D.C. monuments, statues, headstones, and memorials, with descriptions and histories of each.