Jennifer C. Boettcher
202 687-7495
Advanced Searching
Boolean always use capitals:
AND - Ukraine AND ports
OR- port OR harbor
Truncation- Not needed with our search engine because it automatically returns all the words with the same root and spelling variants.
NEAR- Ukraine NEAR/5 ports
Note: Unfortunately, Proximity search NEAR cannot be used in the same search as Boolean operators AND, OR, and AND NOT.
Proximity
N/# leader* N/5 wom?n Leader(truncated) NEAR 5 words of women or woman
P/# general p/2 dunwoody General 2 words BEFORE dunwoody, so you would get General Dunwoody or General Ann Dunwoody
Proximity
N# leader* N5 wom?n Leader(truncated) NEAR 5 words of women or woman
W# general W2 dunwoody General 2 words BEFORE dunwoody, in the order which you entered then
Proximity
near# – leader* near3 wom?n Leader(truncated) NEAR 3 words of women or woman (in any order)
w/# - President w/3 Biden president within 3 words of Biden (President has to be before Biden)
Proximity
ADJ# leader* ADJ5 (female or women or woman) Leader(truncated) NEAR 5 words of female or women or woman
Proximity
w/# leader! w/5 wom?n Leader(truncated) within 5 words of women or woman
P/# general p/2 dunwoody General 2 words BEFORE dunwoody, so you would get General Dunwoody or General Ann Dunwoody
Generative AI Tools
For information on using generative AI resources like ChatGPT and Elicit in your research, visit our Research Guide for tips on crafting prompts, citing AI tools, and using AI tools ethically.
Tutorials on how to search
Core Business Articles
- ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLimited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data. - Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new windowTo search only the Management & Organization Studies collection, go to "Search Within," select "Search from a list of disciplines" and select "Management & Organization Studies" from the 'Social Sciences & Humanities" section.
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of management and organizations. - Company Dossier (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowDossier links are within "Dossier" content box on "Companies" page.
LexisNexis Company Dossier covers more than 35 million global companies, both public and private. Under Reference link, information comes from Hoover's, Disclosure, Datamonitor, Extel, Vickers, and SGA Executive Tracker. - Emerald Intelligence + Fulltext This link opens in a new windowThis source has over 130 full-text journals published by MCB University Press. Subjects include: general management, human resources, information management, library & information services, marketing, property, engineering, quality, training & education, operations, production & economics. Most of the journals have an international perspective.
- McKinsey QuarterlyConsulting company, McKinsey & Co, specializes on organizational leadership and some of their research is available for free.
Key Business Publications
Creating an Alert
- How to Create an Alert for a Specific Source in ProQuestAfter completing this 2:40 minute tutorial, you will be able to: locate a newspaper (Wall Street Journal) from the Library’s website; select the correct link from HoyaSearch; and generating an alert for each publication.
Regional Business News
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowFull text of local business publications and media, ideal for small business and entrepreneurship and urban studies. English only publications and US focused, this database but does have some Middle Eastern, Chinese, Eastern European publications.
- BizJournalsBizjournals is the online media division of American City Business Journals, the nation's largest publisher of metropolitan business newspapers. The site also features online commercial real estate listings and news for over 40 cities. You can sign up for free daily updates for your cities of interest.
Core Economics Indexes
- National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers This link opens in a new windowWorking Papers covering topics in macro and microeconomics, labor economics and welfare economics. New research by NBER affiliates, circulated for discussion and comment. The NBER distributes more than 1,200 working papers each year. These papers have not been peer reviewed.
- Fed in Print This link opens in a new windowIndex to all Federal Reserve Board and Banks' publications with selected full text in more recent years.
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)Database of economic working papers, journal articles and software components.
- SSRN's Economics Research NetworkSocial Science Research Network is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
