Guides: Accounting: Financial Statements

Best Sources

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel. Available to Georgetown alumni.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies. Print equivalents include Standard & Poor's: 'Stock Reports,' 'Company Profiles,' 'Bond Guide,' 'Corporation Records,' 'Mutual Fund Reports,' 'Security Dealers of North America,' 'Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives,' 'Industry Surveys,' and 'The Outlook.'

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel. Available to Georgetown alumni.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.

SEC types of forms
Securities and Exchange Commission require public-traded companies to submit information. That information is refered to by type of form. For example 1933 forms refer to S-1 (IPOs) and 1934 refer to regular recurring form like the 10-k (have annual financial statements)

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Over 20 financial ratios and percentages are given for each of major industries. Statistics lag three years behind publication date. Note: Compiles statistics for companies just starting up and having no money in assets. For current statistics use the RMA Annual Statement Studies.
more...less...
Ref. Desk HF 5681 .R25 T68
Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations
Quarterly income statements and balance sheets, as well as financial and operating ratios for approximately 40 industries grouped by amount of total assets.