Guides: Accounting: Accounting Home

Accounting Articles

VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw provides in-depth legal analysis on several topics -- human resources, labor/employment, tax, health, antitrust, and more -- with forms, articles, recent decisions, and guides. Provided by the generous support of the Georgetown Law Library.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and trade publications, books, annuals, and newspapers in the fields of domestic and foreign accounting and taxation. Provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information.
National and international in scope, key publications focus on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms. Full text of Journal of Accountancy goes back to 1974 with other full text articles starting in 1987. Based on Accountant's Index (Ref Z7164.C81 A5 1920-1991).

Digital Accounting Collection
University of Mississippi Libraries' Digital Accounting Collection contains several discrete collections, including the AICPA’s noncurrent exposure drafts and noncurrent Codes of Professional Conduct, a group of accounting pamphlets spanning the 20th century, and a small collection of art and photographs. Some full text.

Core Business Articles

Wal-Mart Stores Exxon Mobil Chevron General Electric Bank of America Corp. ConocoPhillips AT&T Ford Motor J.P. Morgan Chase & Co. Hewlett-Packard Berkshire Hathaway Citigroup McKesson Verizon Communications General Motors American International Group Cardinal Health CVS Caremark Wells Fargo International Business Machines UnitedHealth Group Procter & Gamble Kroger AmerisourceBergen Costco Wholesale Valero Energy Archer Daniels Midland Boeing U.S. Postal Service Home Depot Target WellPoint Walgreen Johnson & Johnson State Farm Insurance Cos. Medco Health Solutions Microsoft United Technologies Dell Goldman Sachs Group Pfizer Best Buy Marathon Oil Lowe's United Parcel Service Lockheed Martin Dow Chemical Sears Holdings International Assets Holding PepsiCo Bunge MetLife Safeway Supervalu Kraft Foods Freddie Mac Sysco Apple Walt Disney Cisco Systems Comcast FedEx Northrop Grumman Intel Aetna New York Life Insurance Prudential Financial Caterpillar Sprint Nextel Allstate General Dynamics Morgan Stanley Liberty Mutual Insurance Group Coca-Cola Humana Honeywell International Abbott Laboratories News Corp. HCA Sunoco Hess Ingram Micro Fannie Mae Time Warner Johnson Controls Delta Air Lines Merck DuPont Tyson Foods American Express TIAA-CREF CHS Rite Aid Enterprise GP Holdings Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Philip Morris International Raytheon Express Scripts Hartford Financial Services Travelers Cos. Publix Super Markets Amazon.com Staples Google Macy's International Paper Oracle 3M Deere McDonald's Schlumberger Tech Data Motorola Fluor Eli Lilly Coca-Cola Enterprises Bristol-Myers Squibb Northwestern Mutual DIRECTV Emerson Electric Nationwide TJX AMR U.S. Bancorp GMAC PNC Financial Services Group Nike Murphy Oil Kimberly-Clark Alcoa Plains All American Pipeline Cigna Aflac Time Warner Cable United Services Automobile Association J.C. Penney Exelon Kohl's Whirlpool

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
Company Dossier (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Company Dossier covers more than 35 million global companies, both public and private. Under Reference link, information comes from Hoover's, Disclosure, Datamonitor, Extel, Vickers, and SGA Executive Tracker. Dossier links are within "Dossier" content box on "Companies" page.
Includes company description and history; key financials; executive, structure, subsidiaries, auditor, and bank information news by region, topic and publication; patents, trademarks, and brands; and litigation.

Interested in using generative AI tools like ChatGPT and Elicit?

*Reminder: Check your syllabus or ask your professor before using generative AI tools for an assignment.*

AI Tools Can be Helpful With:		Be More Cautious with AI Tools if You:
Writing Models		Need very recent information
Suggesting Synonyms		Do not have previous knowledge of a topic
Copy Editing		Are concerned about potential plagiarism or copyright violations
Brainstorming		Need to perform complex mathematics
Summarizing*		Are unsure if you're permitted to use AI tools in your research or writing
Translation		Are concerned about the electrical energy use in running these tools