Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Asian History

Background Information

Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations 

Covers ancient Asia from the Indus Valley Civilization in 3000 BCE through the Cambodian empires of Funan, Chenla, and Angkor that lasted until the 15th Century. Includes 900 detailed A-Z entries that treat archaeological sites, religions, agricultural and economic development, personalities, warfare, trade, and political institutions.

Location: LAU Ref Stacks DS 12 .H5 2004

Encyclopedia of Asian History 

Short articles by scholars covering all areas of Asian history, includes brief bibliographies. A detailed subject index and a useful synoptic outline appear at the end of volume four.

Location: LAU Ref Stacks DS 31 .E53 1988

Chronologies

Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture 

Brief essays introduce historical periods and give background to entries on important events in the history of East, South, Southeast, and Central Asian countries, from earliest times to the present (1998). Arts, culture, thought, religion, science-technology, economics, and everyday life have entries as well as political events. Political Chronology of Central, South, and East Asia (Ref. DS 327.5 .P65 2001) and Political Chronology of South-East Asia and Oceania (Ref. DS 525.7 .P65 2001) are devoted to political events.

Location: LAU Ref Stacks DS 33 .C63 2000

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy