Guides: Justice & Peace Studies: Think Tanks & NGOs

Select Peace and Justice Organizations

Peace and Justice Studies Association
The website links to resources and publications as well as information about membership, directories of programs, and conferences.
International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO)
Research at PRIO concentrates on the driving forces behind violent conflict and on ways in which peace can be built, maintained and spread. In addition to theoretical and empirical research, PRIO also conducts policy-oriented activities and engages in the search for solutions in cases of actual or potential violent conflict.
Justice Studies Association
INCORE: International Conflict Research Institute
Resources include: Conflict Data Service, Psychosocial Projects, Ethnic Conflict Research Digest, and Peace Agreements Database. In addition, the INCORE website provides full text of reports and working papers under Publications.
International Relations and Security Network
Gives access to IRSN annotated links library, a limited area search tool (ISN LASE), a selection of resources on current world affairs, and specialized fact databases.
Peace Media Clearinghouse
U.S. Institute of Peace collections.
International Center for Transitional Justice
Institute for Peace and Justice (Univ. of San Diego)
CRInfo: The Conflict Resolution Information Source
National Human Trafficking Resource Center
Global Nonviolent Action Database
Browse or search for cases and methods of nonviolent actions.
Nonviolent Conflict
Database of nonviolent movements and campaigns, produced by the International Center on Nonviolent Conflict.

Select Conflict Resolution Research Organizations

Alliance for Peacebuilding
A community of over 100 peacebuilding organizations conducting research on evaluation, policy & advocacy, human security, and countering extremism.
The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (CEIP)
The Endowment conducts programs of research, discussion, publication, and education in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy, including migration, nuclear non-proliferation, regional conflicts, multilateralism, democracy-building, and the use of force.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations for armed conflict, military expenditure and arms trade as well as disarmament and arms control.
International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO)
Research at PRIO concentrates on the driving forces behind violent conflict and on ways in which peace can be built, maintained and spread. In addition to theoretical and empirical research, PRIO also conducts policy-oriented activities and engages in the search for solutions in cases of actual or potential violent conflict.
International Peace Institute
IPI is an independent, non-partisan, international organization dedicated to promoting the peaceful settlement of armed conflicts between and within states. It works closely with the United Nations, regional and other international organizations, governments, and parties to conflicts.
U.S. Institute of Peace (USIP)
The United States Institute of Peace is an American federal institution tasked with promoting conflict resolution and prevention worldwide. It provides research, analysis, and training to individuals in diplomacy, mediation, and other peace-building measures.
The Arms Control Association
The ACA website provides access to its journal, Arms Control Today, background information & analysis on the Comprehensive Test Ban (CTB) Treaty, and other arms control briefings, fact sheets, and background papers.
International Crisis Group
"The ICG is a private, multinational organisation committed to strengthening the capacity of the international community to understand and respond to impending crises. ICG's approach is grounded in field research ... and advocacy." Includes a Conflict Histories database, a Map database, and a monthly CrisisWatch newsletter.

Policy Analysis Databases

Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks

Policy Commons - Global Think Tanks contains papers from several research institutes and NGOs from around the world.
Policy File Index
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
PAIS Index
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.

Find Policy
Find policy was created by Transparify. TIP: Scroll past the sponsored results on the search results page!
Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School Library)
A custom Google search that searches the websites of notable think tanks. Can search US and international.