Research guide prepared by the Catholic Resources Research Alliance (CRRA) to highlight digital resources at CRRA institutions and Church documents that form the basis for Catholic Social Teaching and action. Resources include materials related to Dorothy Day, Sister Helen Prejean, and others as well as topics such as nonviolence, immigrants, and solidarity.
Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.
Call Number: Online and in print: Ref. JZ 5533 .O95 2010
A four-volume set, signed articles cover a wide range of topics from "Arms Control and Disarmament," "Psychology of Direct Violence," "Forgiveness," "Poverty and Conflict," to "War on Terror." Important people, organizations, and theories are also included. Key documents, terms, negotiation terms, a topical outline of entries, and references are appended.
This scholarly, full-text encyclopedia is being developed by Stanford University. High standards of quality and authority: sophisticated, easy-to-use interface. Brief definitions are followed by deep analysis. Aimed at undergraduates through professionals.
The encyclopedia covers methods, debates, terms, country studies, and institutions and organizations relating to ways states and groups use to deal with past human rights violations. Topics include: Amnesty, Child Soldiers, Restorative versus Retributive Justice, Victim Theories, Ethnic Cleansing, Theater of Violence, and more. Entries are written by scholars and include bibliographies.
Exstensive articles covering a wide range of topics, for example, "Anthropology of Warriors," "Biochemical Factors," and "Religious Traditions, Violence and Nonviolence." Articles include bibliographies. Three volumes.
Essays describe people, concepts, organizations, political and social movements, and events. Bibliographies point to further reading on such topics as Community Organizing, Just War Theory, Direct Action, Socially Responsible Investing, and Disability Studies. Browse the "Reader's Guide" in volume one which organizes articles by broad topic and by geographic area.
This encyclopedia is a comprehensive introduction to Catholic social thought. The work combines three levels of analysis (1) broad-ranging theoretical work on key topics and scholarly disciplines, (2) social science perspectives on a wide range of topics relating to human nature and society, and (3) treatment of policy issues.
Provides basic economic, political, geographic and background data for every country in the world, along with a mechanism for comparing statistics across countries. Includes directories of government agencies and officials, political parties, media organizations, business associations and other similar groups for each country. Earlier years in LAU Stacks at JN1 .E85.
Provides in-depth market research reports on various industries and global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Also provides extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Includes profiles for many multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. Also includes podcasts, webinars, and a tool for creating charts and tables to illustrate data and forecasting.