Get Answers
Find Music Articles
- Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowChronicles the history of African-American music through 1970, offering electronic access to coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, early slave spirituals, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCovers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular music periodicals from over 20 countries. Indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in New York Times and Washington Post. Records from 1996 forward contain abstracts.
- Black Music Library"This digital library was born out of a need to make resources about Black music history as comprehensive and accessible as possible." --From the site's About page.
Find History & Culture Articles
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center contains both primary sources and scholarly research on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself, including: the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals [IIBP]), the full text of the Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
