The following databases are available for use by current Georgetown students, staff, and faculty as well as any patrons in Joseph Mark Lauinger Library. When accessing the databases from off-campus, log in with NetID and password. http://www.library.georgetown.edu/off-campus-access.
Citations with non-evaluative abstracts to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, speech, and communication. Provides enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International and bibliographic citations for book reviews. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and in psycholinguistics.
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Search ERIC for articles, books, papers, reports, and other materials on education topics such as teaching, pedagogy, curriculum, bilingual education, counseling, policy, theory, and subjects of instruction. Many ERIC documents (identified with an ED number) are available fulltext within ERIC. Check GEORGE or the WRLC catalog for documents not yet online. For journal articles, check Journal Finder.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides a rich vein of material relating to education literature and research. Content includes articles, books, papers, reports, and other materials on education topics dating back to 1966. The collection spans a broad range of education-related topics such as teaching, pedagogy, curriculum, bilingual education, counseling, policy, theory, and subjects of instruction, just to name a few.
Unlike other iterations of ERIC--such as ERIC (via Ovid) or ERIC (via ed.gov)--ERIC (via EBSCO) utilizes the EBSCO search platform. Because of this, it can be cross-searched with other related EBSCO databases, such as Education Source, Education Full Text, and Educational Administration Abstracts. Additionally, ERIC (via EBSCO) contains more full-text content than other versions of because it effectively links out to ProQuest Theses and Dissertations when appropriate.
BLLDB is the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL). It is one of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. BLLDB is compiled by the Special Collection Linguistics at the University Library Frankfurt/Main.
This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
A comprehensive index to communication-related publications, including literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. Also covers the international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities."
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media.
Includes the full text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the areas of journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies/intercultural communication, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
Mid-1990s- (dates vary by title).
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
(1887- ).
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
1963- . Citations and abstracts. Earlier years have citations only.
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Based on an international selection of over 2500 journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, etc.
Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.
(1985-)
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
The journal is dedicated to general linguistics. It publishes contributions from all areas of linguistics, provided they contain theoretical implications that shed light on the nature of language and the language faculty. Contributions should be of interest to all linguists, independently of their own specialisation.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy