Guides: Education: Citations & Bibliography

Citing Sources

The primary reasons for citing sources in a research paper are to give credit to the authors whose work you have drawn upon and to allow readers to track down your sources, should they wish to do so.

See the resources below for tools to help you format citations and bibliographies.

Citation Guides

Purdue's OWL
Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) provides guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as advice on research, writing and citation.
APA Sample Papers: 'A Novel Teacher Evaluation Model'
APA Style & Grammar Guidelines
How to Cite Data (MSU)

APA Style (7th Edition)

Citation Managers

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies.

Zotero
Zotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. You can automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate with other researchers online, import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, and access your papers from anywhere online.

Annotated Bibliographies

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (Cornell University Library)

Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue OWL)