Sometimes we don't have a digital collection that fits your topic. These indexes allow you to search for materials, but you will then have to request them using the "Find Full-Text @ GU" link.
Indexes and abstracts over 250 alternative, radical and left leaning journals, newspapers and magazines from the U.S. and abroad. Topics covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation and socialism.
Indexes articles that appeared in the Niles publications: The Weekly Register, Niles' Weekly Register, and Niles' National Register. Published in Baltimore, Washington, and Philadelphia, with national readership, the Register was an influential, widely read newsweekly. Citations are for the volume and page, which is on microfilm in Lauinger Library and digitally available via HathiTrust. If full-text is freely available (through Google Books, for example), it is linked to.
Extensive coverage of major developments of the era: the War of 1812; the Napoleonic Wars; the Holy Alliance; the earliest railroads; the Erie Canal and the canal-building boom that followed; Indian wars in the United States; the introduction of the steam engine and steam boats; slavery and abolitionism; the Bank of the United States; the financial crises of 1817 and 1837; the US tariff, nullification, and the growth of American manufacturing; the revolutions of 1820, 1830, and 1848; the Mexican-American War and more.
Use this article database to search for a wide range of topics from general interest and popular magazines of the past (1890-1982), such as the Saturday Evening Post and Life. For content published after 1983, use Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson).
Index to the most popular general-interest magazines and journals published in the United States. For content published between 1890-1982, use the Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy