Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Reusable Content*

This is a how-to guide and repository for reusable content, maintained by the LibGuides Steering Committee.

What Is a Database?

The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles.  They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.

TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results.  If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors.  They often suggest other good words to use in your search.  Also look for "Find more like this" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).

Tips for Finding Articles

WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION

To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder (search boxes at left).

If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan.

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD

To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s homepage under Articles & Databases. To find relevant databases, use the "Databases by Specific Subject" column.

Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.

Research & Scholarship

GUMC Students: Dahlgren Memorial (Medical) Library

Dahlgren Memorial Library

Dahlgren Memorial Library

202-687-1448 | dmlreference@georgetown.edu | map

Dahlgren Library, which is located at the Georgetown University Medical Center, acquires, organizes, and provides access to information services and resources in support of the mission of the University and the Medical Center, and consults and collaborates with GUMC faculty, staff, and students to integrate information resources and technologies into teaching, learning, research, patient care, and service.

Important Government Resources

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy