Offers definitions and explanations of key concepts and extended explorations of major topics in sociology. Includes a timeline, a lexicon by subject area, a bibliography, and an index.
Collection of articles from over 180 social science journals. Disciplines covered include: anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, economics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, urban studies and more.
Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) has tools for every step of the research process in the social sciences, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SRM includes reference entries for hundreds of research methods, over 1,000 books providing in-depth treatments on using various methods, and cases, datasets, and short video demonstrating and applying methods in scholarship.
Sage Research Methods includes: Sage Research Methods: Foundations - brief but expert introductions to hundreds of research methods. Sage Research Methods: Cases - 2,000 case studies of real research projects* Sage Research Methods: Datasets - 500 datasets offering hands-on practice of methods and techniques*
*Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.
ILLiad, Georgetown's interlibrary loan service, allows patrons to request books and articles from other libraries using ILLiad. Available for Main Campus patrons only.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy