Skip to main content
General Security Research
Looking for more information beyond the UN on peacekeeping and security? Try some of our other research guides:
Also check out the following research guides from the UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library:
GU Library databases relating to security, peacekeeping, and disarmament:
Armed Conflict Database
Collection of data on recent armed conflict (international and internal) throughout the world. Includes information on terrorism, refugees, displaced persons, weapons use and flows, fatalities, costs and timelines. Users can generate custom reports and download data. Created by the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS).
Jane's Terrorism and Insurgency Centre
Includes profiles of terrorist and insurgent groups, chronologies and descriptions of terror- related events, expert analyses and case studies. Search options include limiting by country, territory, and group. A separate event search is provided that includes searching by country, event type, tactic, casualties and affected countries.
Index to Military Periodicals
A subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
Global Terrorism Database
The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism—better known as START - is a university-based research center committed to the scientific study of the causes and human consequences of terrorism in the United States and around the world.
UN Peacekeeping Resources
UN Disarmament Resources
Knotted Gun sculpture, United Nations/New York. From UNODA.
United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA)
This site has text and status of various treaties, regional disarmament information, and a database of UN General Assembly resolutions (52nd - 61st sessions) concerning weapons, disarmament, and nonproliferation.
United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR)
This autonomous institute within the UN conducts research on disarmament and security issues. Their goal is to assist and inform the international community and encourage state participation in arms control and reduction. Research topics and publications are on topics such as small arms control, states views on an arms trade treaty, arms control in outer space, etc. Publications can also be searched in the UNIDIR database.
International Atomic Energy Agency
The IAEA is the depositary of key international conventions and legal agreements. Additionally, the Agency is entrusted with responsibilities under other treaties and agreements that States have adopted.
IAEA - NUCLEUS
NUCLEUS is the data portal of the International Atomic Energy Administration (IAEA) and provides access to a wide range of scientific and technical data about nuclear energy.
The United Nations disarmament yearbook
New York: United Nations, 1976-
LAU Stacks JX1974 .U546
United Nations Register of Conventional Arms
UN member states listing of export and inport of conventional arms. Data shows military holdings and procurements.