Head of Research Services
Citation Tools
-
Purdue OWLPurdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) provides guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as advice on research, writing and citation.
-
How To Cite Data (MSU Library)A concise page with helpful tips on citing your data and examples from three official style guides (APA, MLA, and Chicago). Includes information about how to cite tables, datasets, and citing within text. From Michigan State University Libraries.
-
RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies.
-
ZoteroZotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).
HoyaSearch
Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch!
Research Databases
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
-
African Journals Online This link opens in a new windowAfrican Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. Historically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics. In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world. AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation based in South Africa.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Primary Source Collections
-
Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines This link opens in a new windowBlack South African Magazines is a digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973. Find over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written for Black African audiences. Coverage includes Drum, Zonk!, The Townships Housewife, Hi-Note, and others. Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies.
-
Africa Commons: East African Magazines: The Hilary Ng'weno Archive This link opens in a new windowAn exclusive collection of full-run magazines, newspapers, and films from Hilary Ng'weno, the legendary Kenyan journalist.
-
Africa Commons: West African Magazines This link opens in a new windowWith coverage from the 1930s to the present, the West African Magazines collection provides insight into the literary heritage of Nigeria, Ghana, Liberia, Senegal, and other countries. The magazines showcase fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, and other features. Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies.
-
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new windowReproduces online in searchable, PDF page images important British Foreign Office and Colonial Office documents on Africa from the start of the historical modern British colonial enterprise in Africa through the first years of African national independence. Part of Archives Direct.
-
African Diaspora, 1860-Present This link opens in a new windowAfrican Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection contains primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies. -
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America This link opens in a new windowComposed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party. Part of Archives Unbound.
-
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center contains both primary sources and scholarly research on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself, including: the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals [IIBP]), the full text of the Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
-
Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 This link opens in a new windowThe records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church provide valuable information on social conditions in developing nations and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Among the missions’ responsibilities was the establishment of indigenous churches, educational facilities, hospitals, orphanages, and seminaries. Part of Archives Unbound.
-
NCCO - Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and ConquestThis is a subset of the Nineteenth Century Collections Online and deliversmonographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy.
The "Scramble for Africa" began with the arrival of missionaries and explorers to the "Dark Continent" in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Over the next 100 years, Africa would be "Christianized" by European missionaries; "commercialized" as an outlet for European-produced consumer goods and source for raw materials; and "civilized" by the establishment of European political institutions and the arrival of European settlers. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century.
-
History Commons: Historical American Newspapers, Books, and Journals This link opens in a new windowA collection of American newspapers, magazines, and other primary source materials, mostly from the 19th century, but with some 18th century items. Newspapers and magazines include the Virginia Gazette, Pennsylvania Gazette, The Liberator, Godey's Lady's Book, and a selection of African American newspapers. Books include a large collection of county histories, Civil War memoirs and regimental histories, and more.
Historical Newspapers
-
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new windowComplete, full-text archive of the New York Times, from its first issue on September 18, 1851, through 2009. NOTE: The newspaper was titled the New York Daily Times from 1851 to 1857. In 1857, its name was changed to the New York Times.
-
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable, electronic version of The Times, Britain's newspaper of record, essential for primary source research in British history, politics, and culture. Provides a complete full-text and full-image archive of The Times from 1785 to 1985.
-
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
-
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to approximately 75 U.S. newspapers chronicling over a century of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 22 states and the District of Columbia—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies. -
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new windowThe African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
-
New York Amsterdam News (Historical) This link opens in a new windowAfrican American newspaper from New York City, New York.
-
Chicago Defender (Historical) This link opens in a new windowComplete, full-text archive of The Chicago Defender, the most significant African-American newspaper, from 1910 to 2010. Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies.
