Guides: ENGL 5110: Global Medieval Literatures (McNamer): Scholarly Sources

Finding Books

HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.

Pro Tips:

1. The following are examples of subject headings that can be searched in combination the country name and/or time period to find sources about the social and cultural history of a county.

Social life and customs
Social conditions
Manners and customs
Religious life and customs
Civilization

2. Time period naming conventions may vary from country to country. For example, these are some of time period subject headings for Japan and Iran:

France -- History -- 13th century
France -- History -- Medieval period, 987-1515
Iran -- History -- 640-1500
Islamic Empire -- History -- 750-1258
Japan -- History -- Heian period, 794-1185

Finding Articles

Medieval Studies

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles published in journals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400 to 1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarship drawn from Medieval and Renaissance books, dissertations, and journal materials (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies). Covers the years 400 to 1700. Indexes publications from the mid-1800's to the present.

Art & Art History

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics in art history, from advertising art, antiques, and archaeology to sculpture, television, and textiles. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Specific Cultures & Religions

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense. From ProQuest.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 350+ major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by American Theological Library Association, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.
Indexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology. The database represents the following print sources: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 -Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985. This collection now includes content from Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.