Guides: ASST4047-01/STIA4243-01: Medicine and Power in India: Digitized Collections

South Asia

Evangelism in India: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910 This link opens in a new window
Records from the Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions about missionary work in Farukhabad, Punjab, and West India from 1833 to 1910. Part of Archives Unbound.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 This link opens in a new window
These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. As well as tracing the international connections between India, the Commonwealth and the wider world, this collection offers unique insights into political movements and cross-border tensions that were central to the modern state's preoccupation with stability and national unification. Part of Archives Direct.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window
Records from the U.S. State Department during India and Pakistan's transition from British colony to independent states. Includes reports on economic affairs, government, and other topics. Part of Archives Unbound.