Guides: ASST7900/GOVT6401: Thesis Seminar in Asian Studies: Articles & Databases

Core English Language Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.
ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

Core Chinese Language Article Databases

The following databases are available for use by current Georgetown students, staff, and faculty as well as any patrons in Joseph Mark Lauinger Library. When accessing the databases from off-campus, log in with NetID and password. http://www.library.georgetown.edu/off-campus-access

CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) This link opens in a new window
English Interface
Simplified Chinese Interface
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. See information icon for full database description.
The largest and most comprehensive electronic database published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure), China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. Georgetown subscribes to CAJ (China Academic Journals covering 10 major academic disciplines from 1994 onward ) and CJP (Century Journal Project, 1915-1993).
Dacheng This link opens in a new window
Dacheng (大成老旧刊) provides full-text access to over 140,000 issues in nearly 7,000 periodicals published before 1949. The database is a rich resource to researches in modern Chinese history, literature, politics, law, sociology and economics.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services This link opens in a new window
TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Duxiu This link opens in a new window
读秀 is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. It searches journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and books, and yields relevant pages for reading.

Japanese Language Databases

Japan Times and Japan Advertiser Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest and earliest English-language national newspaper published in Japan covering both the country and the world. Digital archive covers from 1865-1866 and 1897 to the present. Also includes the archive of the Japan Advertiser (1913-1940), which merged with the Japan Times in 1940.
Contemporary Japan Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized issues of Contemporary Japan: A Review of Far Eastern Affairs from 1932 to 1970. The journal contains English translations of important speeches by Japanese authors, political figures, and other leaders of Japanese society.
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search This link opens in a new window
Eight (8) simultaneous accesses are shared among the consortium of currently ten (10) participating institutions.
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (formerly Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries) is a news retrieval service from the publisher of Japan’s second largest circulation newspaper, Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞. Coverage includes over 8,000,000 full-text articles from 1945 to the present.
Yomiuri Shimbun (Yomidasu Rekishikan) This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 concurrent user. Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.
JapanKnowledge This link opens in a new window
Limited to 4 concurrent users.

JapanKnowledge Lib is an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan.

CiNii
CiNii(Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched with academic information of articles, Books & Journals.
It is available free of charge for anyone. In viewing paid content, special rates and other privileges are offered to institutional fixed-price users (registration by institution) or users with an ID (individual registration).

"CiNii Articles"enables you to search information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.

Korean Language Databases

DBPia This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text databases from over 200 Korean journals in various disciplines.
NK News/NK Pro This link opens in a new window
Covers exclusive daily news, in-depth investigations, expert interviews and analysis by impressive number of top experts such as scholars, journalists, and North Korean refugees on North Korea-related issues ranging from everyday life in North Korea to tensions over nuclear weapons. Powerful data tools allow for analysis of historical analysis of news releases. Also includes a Korean and Japanese media monitoring tool, a tracker for the North Korean leadership, and a live stream of Korea Central Television. Includes access to NK Pro.
KISS (Korean Studies Information Services System) This link opens in a new window
Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles by over 300,000 authors, covering all subject areas.

Naver News Library
A full-text Korean newspaper article database containing the following four major newspapers:
- Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
- Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
- Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
- Han’gyŏre 한겨레 = The Hankyoreh : 1988-1999
Its full-text keyword searching and navigating functions are quite powerful.