Guides: Launching Entrepreneurial Ventures: Industry Overviews

Overviews

Census Business Builder
"The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format."

S&P Global NetAdvantage
Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies. Print equivalents include Standard & Poor's: 'Stock Reports,' 'Company Profiles,' 'Bond Guide,' 'Corporation Records,' 'Mutual Fund Reports,' 'Security Dealers of North America,' 'Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives,' 'Industry Surveys,' and 'The Outlook.'
Investext Full from Mergent
Investext from Mergent is a database of research reports by brokerage firms and analysts. The resource provides access to research reports on 42,000 global companies and 125 industries. Reports are embargoed for 14 days after publication.

Business Trends and Outlook Survey (BTOS)
Every two weeks, a new dataset is released from a sample base of 1.2 million businesses, given 25 consistent questions. Respondents provide current sentiments and future perspectives that reflect operational changes and financial stress. Topics include changes in revenue, hours worked, employment, input/output prices, demand, inventory, delivery time, work from home, use of AI, and general performance, as well as the impact of interest rates, loss due to weather, and if they started or closed a business. With such a huge sample base, these data can be parsed by state, Puerto Rico, top metropolitan areas, sector, subsector (3-digit NAICS), and business size.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles
Mintel
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries or create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Trade Show News Network
International directory of trade shows. Once you link into a trade show review exhibitors for competition and talks for trends and experts. Older shows may have more detail on pass topics.
Industries at a Glance
Includes:
Workforce Statistics (Layoffs, Extended Mass Layoffs, Employment by Occupation, Projections); Earnings and Hours (Earnings and Hours of All Employees, Earnings and Hours of Production and Nonsupervisory Employees, Earnings by Occupation); Work-related Fatalities, Injuries, and Illnesses; Import & Export Prices; Producer Price Index; and Workplace Trends (Establishments, Productivity).
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
American Society of Association Executives Directory
ASAE represents a membership organization association executives and industry partners representing more than 11,000 organizations. Our members manage leading trade associations, individual membership societies and voluntary organizations.

Sports Market Analytics
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry, including sports equipment sales, participation, broadcasting, sponsorship and marketing.
Data comes from National Sporting Goods Association, U.S. Department of Commerce, various sports governing bodies, newsletters, and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by Miller Freeman. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.
InfoTech, Computers & Software Industry Research Center
Provides information on information technology industries (software, hardware, e-commerce, publishing, telecommunications and services), including market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.