Skip to Main Content

Georgetown University Presidential Inaugurations

This guide is intended as a starting point for finding materials relating to the history of inaugurations of Georgetown University Presidents

GU Presidential Inaugurations

 

Ceremony in Gaston Hall Inauguration of Hunter Guthrie, S.J., May 1, 1949

 

1912: Alphonsus J. Donlon, S.J.

 

  • Date: February 18, 1912
  • Location: Hirst Library, Healy Hall
  • Description in the Georgetown College Journal, March 1912, pages 229-230
  • Note: Father Donlon's installation banquet appears to be the first GU Presidential inaugural event to which external invitations were issued. Prior to 1912, new GU Presidents seem to have simply arrived on campus and addressed the faculty and student body before beginning work
  • Archival Records:

    • Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA-000385: Photocopies of invitation to the Hirst Library reception for President Donlon and of articles from the Georgetown College Journal and [Washington] Times

    • Varia Collection: Numbered Series, Box 13, Folder 242. Donlon, Fr. Aphonsus John, S.J. 228-6: Includes an invitation to the Hirst Library reception and clippings about preparation for Fr. Donlon’s “formal induction”

 

1918: John B. Creeden, S.J.

 

  • Date: May 5 1918
  • Location: Installation banquet in Ryan Hall 
  • Archival Records: 

    • Old Archives: Georgetown Presidents: John B. Creeden, S.J. GTA.000290, Box 1: Includes menu from President Creeden’s installation banquet and a clipping from an unidentified newspaper about the event

 

1924: Charles W. Lyons, S.J. 

 

  • Date: October 19, 1924
  • Locations:
    • Mass of the Holy Ghost at 10:30 am in Dahlgren Chapel
    • Student Banquet at noon and by-invitation banquet at 6:30 pm in Ryan Hall
    • Reception in Healy Hall for a reception at 4:30 pm
  • Archival records
    • Varia Collection: Numbered Series, Box 21, Folder 395. Lyons, Fr, Charles 355-4: Includes a program and ticket from dinner from the banquet

 

1928: President W. Coleman Nevils, S.J. 

 

  • Date: October 27, 1928
  • Location: Gaston Hall
  • Photographs:
    • University Archives Photographic Collection GTA.000109: Nevils, Coleman, S.J. - GU President 1928-1935., ca. 1896-1955: includes inauguration photographs
  • Archival Records:

    • William Coleman Nevils, S.J. Papers, Box 1. Presidential Inauguration materials: Includes printed materials such as the menu from the installation dinner, the invitation, the program and the text of "Addresses on the occasion of the inauguration of W. Coleman Nevils, S.J., D.D. as President of Georgetown University, Saturday, October 27, 1929 in Gaston Hall on the main campus at Georgetown." This latter item reprints the Presentation Speech of James A., Farrell, the Induction Ceremony by Vice-President Edmund A. Walsh and President Nevils' speech on "Progressive Conservatism"

    • Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA-000385: Includes photocopies of clippings and of President Nevils’ inauguration program, with mention of honorary degrees to James Brown Scott, Thomas Bradbury Chetwood, George Donworth, Michael L. Mullaney, and Oliver Hazard Perry Johnson. Also a booklet of speeches, with text of presentation speech by James A. Farrell on behalf of the Board of Regents, induction ceremony speech by Edmund A. Walsh, S.J., and inaugural address, Progressive Conservatism by President Nevils

 

1935: Arthur A. O'Leary, S.J. 

 

  • Date: November 23, 1935
  • Location: Gaston Hall

  • Photographs:

    • University Archives Photographic Collection GTA.000109: Events -- O'Leary Inaugural, 23 Nov. 1935, November 23, 1935

  • Archival Records:

    • Old Archives: Georgetown Presidents: Arthur A. O'Leary, S.J.GTA-000292. 84-2., 1935: Contains material re presidential inauguration. Includes program and printed addresses given at inauguration by George E. Hamilton, Edmund A. Walsh, S.J., and President O'Leary

    • Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA.000385: Program with mention of honorary degrees to John Joseph Toohey, S.J., Fred Kenelm Nielson, William Neal Cogan, and Raymond Henry Reiss and information sheet for delegates. Also photocopy of article from The Hoya

 

1942: Lawrence C. Gorman, S.J.

 

  • Date: January 19, 1942
  • Location: Copley Lounge
  • Note: President Gorman wanted a simple, informal ceremony because of the War

 

1949: Hunter Guthrie, S.J. 

 

  • Date: May 1, 1949
  • Location: Gaston Hall

 

1952: Father Edward B. Bunn, S.J. 

 

  • Note: President Bunn requested that no inauguration activities be scheduled

 

1964: Gerard J. Campbell, S.J.  

 

  • Date: December 3, 1964
  • Location: McDonough Gymnasium 
  • Note: The inauguration was part of the closing convocation for the University’s 175th anniversary celebration. Honorary degrees were conferred by John F. Kennedy (posthumously) and President Lyndon B. Johnson

  • Photographs:

    • University Archives Photographic Collection GTA.000109. 175th Anniversary, 1964: Includes images of December 3, 1964 convocation; December 3, 1964 Mayflower luncheon and Rev. Edward B. Bunn, S.J. installing Rev. Campbell, S.J. as his successor as Georgetown University President.

 

1969: Robert J. Henle, S.J. 

 

  • Date: October 7, 1969
  • Location: McDonough Gym
  • Notes: A symposium on “University Reform: USA 1970” was held on October 6. Panelists included: Theodore Hesburgh, President of Notre Dame University, Harold Enarson, President of Cleveland State University, Allan Cartter, Chancellor of New York University, and Rep. Edith Green, D-Oregon
  • Descriptions in GU publications:

    • The Hoya, October 10, 1969 (as well as the article on page one, see the Hoya Review section towards the middle)

    • Georgetown Voice, September 30, 1969: “Tuesday marks Henle Inauguration.” Includes inauguration schedule

    • Georgetown Voice, October 14, 1969: “Henle Inaugurated as Georgetown’s 45th President”

    • Georgetown Today, November 1969

    • Academic Vice President's/Provost's/Executive Vice President's Faculty Newsletter GTA 000473. September 15, 1969 

  • Photographs:

    • University Photographer's Files GTA.GAMMS305, Box 15, Folder 7. Henle, Rev. Robert - Inauguration, 10/7/1969

    • University Archives Photographic Collection GTA.000109. 2 folders of inaugural photographs including one of Presidents Henle with former Presidents Edward B. Bunn and Gerard J. Campbell

  • Audio recordings:

    • University Reform: U.S.A., 1970 : a symposium on the occasion of the inauguration of Robert J. Henle, S.J. as 45th President of Georgetown University, Tape 1

    • University Reform: U.S.A., 1970 : a symposium on the occasion of the inauguration of Robert J. Henle, S.J. as 45th President of Georgetown University, Tape 2

  • Archival Records:

    • Public Relations: Henle Files GTA.GAMMS269, Box 1, Folder 2. Henle: Inauguration, 05/08/1969: Contains program and clippings re presidential inauguration of Robert J. Henle, S.J. Also, release re his appointment as president

    • Public Relations GTA 800929, Box 2, Folder 19. President's Inauguration, 09/29/1969: Contains speeches, clippings, memoranda and other materials relating to the inauguration of Robert J. Henle, S.J., as GU's 45th president on Oct. 7, 1969. 1. A presentation by Dr. Harold L. Enarson entitled, "Reform of University Government." 10-7-69. 2. A speech by Robert J. Henle, S.J., n.d. 3. Remarks by Allan Cartter at the Inauguration: "Redefining the Mission of the University". 1969. 4. Remarks by Rep. Edith Green at the Inauguration, 1969. 5. Presentation by Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., at the Inauguration: "Reform and the Future of the American Catholic University." 1969. 6. A statement issued by radical students on the day of the Inauguration: "Is Georgetown Really Neutral?" 7. An edition of the Hoya, Oct. 10, 1969. 8. A folder containing a biographical sketch of Henle, a head and shoulders photo of Henle, and other promotional materials. 9. A programme of the Inauguration of Robert J. Henle, S.J., Oct. 7, 1969. 10. A copy of The President's Report, 1970-1971. 11. A programme for the Symposium on University Reform which preceded the Inauguration. 12. A list of members of the press invited to the inauguration

    • Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA-000385: Program, invitation, and proceedings from University Reform: U.S.A. 1970 symposium. Also photocopy of press release

    • University Reform: U.S.A., 1970 - A Symposium on the occasion of the inauguration of Robert J. Henle, S.J. as 45th President of Georgetown University, October 7, 1969. Georgetown University Press GTA-000370

    • Robert J. Henle, S.J. Inauguration Certificates GTA000280

    • CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE (BUNN) GTA.GAMMS304, Box 10, Folder 13. Robert J. Henle, S.J. - Inauguration, 10/07/1969: Includes printed invitation cards

    • President's Office (O'Donovan) - No Accession Date: II GTA.GAMMS39, Box 10, Folder 27. 42.04 Inaugurations: 1976 - T. Healy; 1970 - R. Henle., 01/19/1970-03/02/1977: Includes listing of expenses for inauguration of President Henle

    • President's Office (Henle) GTA.GAMMS1, Box 44, Folders 1374-1376. 42:04 Inauguration of the President, 1968-1969

 

1977: Timothy S. Healy, S.J.

 

  • Date: March 26, 1977
  • Location: Gaston Hall
  • Descriptions in GU publications:

    • "Mid-Week Report" GTA000311: Volume 6, number 58. March 29, 1977. Special Edition: “Georgetown Inaugurates 46th President”

    • Georgetown Today, May 1977, pages 22-24. “Inauguration ‘77: A Healybaloo”

    • Georgetown Voice, March 29, 1977, pages 10-11. “Inaugurating Le Grand Tim” by Robert A. Devaney

  • Photographs:
  • Archival Records:

    • Office of University Relations GTA 910731, Box 5, Folder 198. Healy, Rev. Timothy S. S.J. -Inauguration, 1976-1977

    • Public Relations - Timothy S. Healy, S.J. Files GTA.GAMMS272, Box 2, Folder 1. Inauguration: Rev. Timothy S. Healy (1977), 03/14-03/26/1977: Contains program and correspondence re arrangement

    • Provost’s Office GTA.GAMMS6, Box 6, Folder 183. Inauguration - Healy - 3/26/77

    • President's Office (O'Donovan) - No Accession Date: II GTA.GAMMS39, Box 10, Folder 27. 42.04 Inaugurations: 1976 - T. Healy; 1970 - R. Henle: Includes material re arrangements for the inauguration of Timothy S. Healy, S.J., 1976-1977

    • Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA-000385: Program with honorary degree citations for Wilfrid Desan, Rober Lado, Joseph Sebes, S.J., Robert J. Coffey, Gustav O. Kruger, Estelle R. Ramey, and Chester J. Antieau. Also invitation

    • President's Office (Healy) GTA.GAMMS2, Box 10, Folder 325. 42:04 Inauguration of Timothy S. Healy, S.J., 1977: Includes program, stagebook, and letters of congratulation

    • President's Office (Healy) GTA.GAMMS2, Box 10, Folder 326. 42:04 Timothy Healy Inauguration Committee, 1976-1977

    • President's Office (Healy) GTA.GAMMS2, Box 10, Folder 327. 42:04 Inauguration of the President,1977

    • President’s Office GTA.021104, Box 6, Folder 21. Timothy S. Healy, S.J. President, Inaugural Address, March 26, 1977

    • University Archives Poster Collection GTA 000129,: Box 1: Healybaloo!, March 26, 1977

 

1989: Leo J. O'Donovan, S.J.

 

  • Date: September 23, 1989
  • Location: Healy Lawn (the planned ceremony on the lawn was rained out and the inauguration actually took place on the stage of the Kennedy center before the Bicentennial closing concert) 
  • Note: The inauguration was part of the Bicentennial closing events

  • Descriptions in GU publications:

    • For the Record: Georgetown in its Bicentennial Year. Report by Charles L. Currie, S.J. Page 71 references the inauguration

    • Georgetown University 1989 Annual Report. Includes: reference to cancellation of inauguration ceremony of President Leo J. O'Donovan on Healy Lawn because of rain and subsequent investiture at Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, as well as the text of President’ Donovan's inauguration address, "Renewal for a Third Century."

    • Georgetown Voice, September 28, 1989, page 8. “O’Donovan’s Parade Rained On: Georgetown’s Third Century Delayed” by Stephanie  Martz

    • Georgetown Magazine, winter 1990 “The Bicentennial Year: Expressing Georgetown’s Many Faces” by Charles Currie, S.J. Page 29 includes a reference to abandoned ceremony on Healy Lawn

    • The Hoya, September 1, 1989, page 2. Bicentennial Closing - Inaugural Weekend Schedule of Events

    • The Hoya, September 22, 1989, page 1. “200 Years Come to a Close: Inauguration Ends Bicentennial” by Eugene Sloan

  • Recordings:

    • Special Events Tapes GTA.960826, Box 2, Folder 153. Cassette Tape: O'Donovan Inaugural., 09/23/1989 - mass

  • Archival Records:

  • Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA.000385: Program with description of seal, mace, charter, and presidential seal of office. Also invitation.

  • Bicentennial Planning Committee Files GTA.GAMMS301:

    • Box 3, Folder 4: Closing Weekend: Inauguration, 07/31/1989-10/03/1989

    • Box 3, Folder 5: Closing Weekend: Inauguration/Convocation, 04/14/1989-09/23/1989

    • Box 3, Folder 6: Closing Weekend: Inauguration/Convocation, 07/06/1989-09/23/1989

    • Box 19, Folder 13: Closing Convocation / Presidential Inauguration of Leo J. O'Donovan, S.J., 1989

  • Bicentennial Director's Files (Currie) 190423, Box 2, Folder 19. Closing Weekend Activities, 1989 - 1989

  • President’s Office (O’Donovan) GTA 940802:

    • Box 6, Folder 64: Inauguration, Leo J. O'Donovan, 1989, 08/07/1989-09/21/1989

    • Box 6, Folder 65: Inauguration, Leo J. O'Donovan, 09/08/1989-03/08/1990

 

2001: John J. DeGioia 

 

  • Date: October 13, 2001
  • Location: DAR Constitution Hall
  • Descriptions in GU publications:

    • Georgetown Magazine, winter 2002.”Inaugural Address,” pages 20-23” and “Inaugural Scrapbook,” pages 24-29

    • The Hoya, October 16, 2001, pages 1, 6 and 8. “Georgetown Celebrates DeGioia’s Inauguration” by Tim Haggerty, “Speech Highlights GU’s Challenges” by Tracy Zupancis, and “McGarrick Praises GU’s Jesuit Identity” by Sarah Connolly

    • Blue & Gray, October 22, 2001-November 4, 2001, pages 1-7

    • Georgetown Voice, October 11, 2001, page 6. “Inaugural Events for DeGioia underway” by Chris Jarosch

    • Georgetown Voice, October 18, 2001, page 6. “48th Georgetown president inaugurated” by Chris Jarosch, Lizzie Levin and Joe McFadden

    • Georgetown Voice, October 18, 2001, page 13. “Dave Brubeck at D.A.R.” by Shawna Feldmar

  • Photographs:

  • Recordings:

    • Communications Office GTA 130830, Box 1. VHS tape: Inauguration of New President, DAR Constitution Hall, 10/13/2001

  • Archival Records:

    • ​​​​​​​Georgetown Presidential Inauguration Collection GTA.000385: Programs from Inauguration and from Inaugural Concert by Dave Brubeck

    • John J. DeGioia Reference Collection GTA 000757, Box 1: includes clippings and printed inaugural materials such as programs and a poster

    • Communications Office: Protocol and Events GTA100816, Box 1. President John J. DeGioia Inaugural Events, 10/10-13/2001: President DeGioia Inaugural Student BBQ, 10/11/2001, President DeGioia Inaugural Ceremony, 10/13/2001, President DeGioia Inaugural Mass, 10/14/2001

    • Provost's Office: DeGioia Inauguration GTA 011029, Box 1

    • President's Office: Inauguration Files GTA 011207, Box 1

 

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy