FREN 4537: Food, Race, and the French Empire

This edition of Collins French Dictionary & Grammar has been revised and updated to offer extensive and relevant coverage of today's English and French, with thousands of phrases and examples guiding the user to the most appropriate translation.

Fully revised and updated, this dictionary covers all the essential French vocabulary of everyday life. With extensive coverage, it presents over 100,000 words, phrases, and translations for those first learning French or for those simply needing a quick reference. It includes special treatment of key words--the frequently-used words that are the building blocks to learning the language. These words are given a special layout and usage notes to help learners access them easily and correctly. New warning symbols are provided to make slang and informal words and expressions instantly identifiable, and a glossary of grammatical terms as well as a short grammar guide offer extra help in communicating effectively. Additional features include a letter-writing guide, information on using e-mail, and games for developing dictionary skills, making this the ideal reference for anyone curious about the French language.

The vocabulary in this dictionary covers all aspects of everyday business usage (office practice, buying and selling, banking, insurance, personal and corporate finance, the stock exchange, warehousing and distribution, and business travel). Differences between British and American usage are highlighted. Completely revised and updated, the book includes French and English business terms with over 50,000 entries in the two languages.