Guides: Theo 097-01 Feminist Theology: Academic Articles

Quick Tips

Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar

ProQuest Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Searches 90+ journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 350+ major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by American Theological Library Association, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.
Indexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology. The database represents the following print sources: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 -Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985. This collection now includes content from Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues. LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.