Guides: WGST 4970 Capstone: Articles

Quick Tips

Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar

Gender and Sexuality

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas and include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization and special reports. The database provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are central to women's lives as well as topics on the impact of gender and gender roles.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues. LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.

History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.

Legal/Policy

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
One of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.
Titles digitized include the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, bills and public laws in the Statutes at Large, the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, selected legislative histories, Supreme Court documents, Presidential documents, and more. Search the Sources of Compiled Legislative History database by Public Law or Bill number, from the 37th to the 107th Congress. The U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection has full text legislative histories on significant legislation in banking, civil rights, labor, digital rights, the USA PATRIOT act, and other selected laws.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.

Health

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

Music/ Cultural Studies / Media Studies

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular music periodicals from over 20 countries. Indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in New York Times and Washington Post. Records from 1996 forward contain abstracts.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.

Core Chinese Language Article Databases

The following databases are available for use by current Georgetown students, staff, and faculty as well as any patrons in Joseph Mark Lauinger Library. When accessing the databases from off-campus, log in with NetID and password. http://www.library.georgetown.edu/off-campus-access

CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) This link opens in a new window
English Interface
Simplified Chinese Interface
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. See information icon for full database description.
The largest and most comprehensive electronic database published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure), China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. Georgetown subscribes to CAJ (China Academic Journals covering 10 major academic disciplines from 1994 onward ) and CJP (Century Journal Project, 1915-1993).
Dacheng This link opens in a new window
Dacheng (大成老旧刊) provides full-text access to over 140,000 issues in nearly 7,000 periodicals published before 1949. The database is a rich resource to researches in modern Chinese history, literature, politics, law, sociology and economics.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services This link opens in a new window
TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Duxiu This link opens in a new window
读秀 is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. It searches journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and books, and yields relevant pages for reading.