Quick Tips
- Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
- Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
- Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
- Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
- Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar
HoyaSearch
Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch!
Scholarly Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Major Newspapers
- New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new windowRegistration required: follow the instructions on our New York Times guide and complete registration before accessing.
Provides unlimited access to New York Times content from 1981-present on nytimes.com. Includes access to the New York Times mobile app. - Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new windowDirect access to washingtonpost.com for GU students, faculty, and staff. More information in the News Research Guide.
Browse News in Factiva
Read the New York Times, Washington Post, or Wall Street Journal without a personal subscription using Factiva's "News Pages" feature.
Click on "News Pages."
Next, select United States, Top World News, or other groupings.
Select your newspaper on the right side of the screen. Select date and newspaper section.
Journals
- Memory StudiesThese articles need to be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
