Latin American Studies and Iberian Languages Liaison & Reference Librarian
Get Answers
Can't find it?
Are you looking for a book or article that is unavailable at Georgetown and the Consortium? Use Interlibrary loan to request the item. Lauinger Library will obtain a book or scanned article for you.Quick Tips
- Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
- Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
- Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
- Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
- Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar
Find academic articles
- HoyaSearchHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLimited to 4 simultaneous users.
An abstract of periodical articles on political science, government, international relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international journals. The printed version (1951-1997) is available. - CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowConference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
- WorldCatWorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
Journals & Specialized Magazines
Journals and specialized magazines that frequently publish articles about topics covered in the course:
