Finding Primary Sources
Finding primary sources can be tricky. Here are some ways to search for them:
1. Search a primary source database.
2. Use library catalogs to find primary sources published in books.
3. Use the bibliographies of secondary sources.
4. Search for manuscript and archival materials.
5. Search an index (not full-text, but sometimes the best for the topic).
Latino/a/x Primary Sources
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- ArchiveGridA searchable collection of finding aids to primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Includes historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive provides access to books and documents. Books published before 1923 are freely available, with some pamphlets, books, and other works published after that date also available.
- OAIster This link opens in a new windowSearch for digitized archival resources, such as books, articles, text, multimedia, datasets, and theses. Part of WorldCat.
Published Primary Sources
Use these search terms- in addition to your keywords- in order to identify published primary sources at the library:
- Archives
- Interviews
- Correspondence
- Description and travel
- Diaries
- Manuscripts
- Oral Histories
- Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
- Personal narratives
- Pictorial Works
- Speeches
- Sources
These search terms are especially powerful if you place them in the "subject" field in the HoyaSearch advanced search option.Thinking about Primary Sources
A primary source is an original source of information, written or created during the time period under study. Primary sources may include:
- Original documents like diaries, manuscripts, photographs, film footage, newspaper articles, speeches, and official records
- Creative works like novels, poetry, music or artifacts like furniture, clothing, buildings
Contrast these with secondary sources, which interpret and analyze primary sources. Secondary sources are generally written after the fact.
