Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

British Literature (19th century): Manuscripts Collections

Booth Family Center for Special Collections

Requesting access to manuscripts

Please note that most manuscripts collections at the Georgetown University Booth Family Center for Special Collections are open to researchers; however, restrictions may apply to some collections. Collections stored off site require a minimum of three days for retrieval. For use of all manuscripts collections, researchers are advised to contact the Booth Family Center for Special Collections in advance of any visit.

The manuscripts archivists look forward to assisting you! Feel free to email, phone, or visit us! 

Ted Jackson

Lisette Matano

Scott Taylor

Register with Aeon

Dear Prospective Researcher:

Please be advised that in order to facilitate providing our best response to your inquiry -- whether it is regarding general information about our collections, a request for scans (please see additional information about scan requests in the  last on this page!), or arranging for a research visit -- it is recommended that you reach out to us first via email or via the Special Collections Information Request Form.

Once contact has been made with an archivist, you will be directed to create an Aeon account (see box below). Note that it is not necessary to add your materials requests into your Aeon account as this will be done for you by the archivist together with any additional information regarding the processing of your requests and/or arranging your research visit.

At any time, should you have any questions or require assistance navigating the Special Collections website or arranging for access to the collections, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to assisting you!

Cordially,

-- The Archivists of the Booth Family Center for Special Collections

Arrange a visit

The best way to contact us is via email. You will then receive a response something like this -- 

Dear Researcher:

Thank you for your inquiry!

Please create an AEON account, in order for your request to be processed,  then follow the guidelines below to request a research visit and materials. 

Identify the boxes you wish to examine using the online finding aid(s). Access to archival collections is by appointment. Collections are stored off site and require up to 3 business days to retrieve and prepare. Retrievals are by box number only. Quantity is limited to 10 boxes per week. Please request boxes via your staff contact by email  -- no need to include folder numbers or other document information, except for your own reference. Note: When requesting multiple collections with the same title, please be sure you cite the correlating GTM# to ensure the correct boxes are retrieved in time for your visit.

Make an appointment by selecting visit dates (start and end); and indicate preferred arrival time slot for the first day of your visit (9-10; 10-1; or 1-4). This will reserve a Reading Room seat  and ensure materials are delivered to the Reading Room on the day of your visit. Reading Room hours are Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. No materials will be delivered to the Reading Room after 4:30 pm. Special Collections is located on the 5th floor of the Joseph Mark Lauinger Memorial Library.

Please email your staff contact directly to schedule your visit. You will receive an email confirming materials requested and research appointment date. If you do not receive an appointment confirmation within 3 business days of your visit, please notify your contact immediately.

Researchers are requested to make their own digital images of material as staff resources are limited. If you intend to make images with a personal device be sure to check the  box on the registration page indicating that you have read and agree to the Special Collections Use Policy.

Laptop, tablet/iPad (with scanner app), smart phone (silenced), and digital camera (no flash) are welcome. Please note you are solely responsible for determining the copyright status of the materials you may wish to use, establishing who the copyright owner is, locating the copyright owner, and obtaining permission for your intended use.

Before your visit, please review the Special Collections policies. 

Please bring valid photo identification (driver's license, passport, or institutional) in order to access Special Collections. U.S. visitors not affiliated with Georgetown University must present a valid driver's license or passport in order to enter Lauinger Library. International visitors must present a valid passport.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

Looking forward to meeting you!

-- The Archivists of the Booth Family Center for Special Collections

 

How to request scans

Please be informed that approval and processing of scan requests are contingent on a review of the physical condition of items, owner and copyright restrictions, as well as staff availability. If approved, requests are limited to 25-30 pages. An option to hire a proxy to research and make DIY scans is recommended for larger quantities. Please notify your staff contact if the latter is preferred so that the necessary visit information can be sent to you. In either case, you will be notified once the materials review is complete.

In the meantime, please create an account in the registration portal AEON and notify your staff contact as soon as this step is completed. Do not add requests to your account at this time. Please be sure to read and check the box regarding the Special Collections Use Policy, especially relating to copyright and publication permissions.

Thank you!

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy