Materials on athletics at Georgetown are present throughout a wide variety of collections in the University Archives and include things like media guides, game programs, box scores, photographs, news clippings, game footage, posters, and ephemera, among other material.
Materials are divided into two categories: primary sources and secondary sources.
Primary sources are those materials that detail firsthand accounts of events or experiences, typically recorded at or around the time they happened. These types of materials include things like diaries, letters, interviews, business records, photographs, flyers, audio or video footage, among others. Newspaper articles created contemporaneously are typically considered primary sources.
Secondary sources are materials that use primary sources to analyze, review, or provide commentary a particular subject, whether it be a person, event, or experience. These types of materials include things like scholarly books and journal articles.
Due to the volume and variety of athletics materials, researchers are strongly encouraged to contact a staff member in the University Archives for assistance to better ensure that all relevant materials on a particular topic are identified. Be sure to read through the "Accessing the University Archives" section underneath the "Home" tab for information on how to access materials as not everything in the University Archives is automatically open for use. Researchers are encouraged to contact a staff member in the University Archives for individualized assistance.
Note: the University Archives continues to actively collect material related to athletics. While these materials primarily come from the University, the Archives are also happy to consider donations of athletics-related material from anyone, whether they are affiliated with Georgetown or not. Feel free to reach out to Archives' staff if you are considering a donation.
Georgetown Football Team with Mascot, Hoya, in 1927
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy