Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Books on Georgetown University History

This guide presents an overview of books on Georgetown University history which are often useful starting points for research projects

Sports Histories

 

These histories are available  for use in Booth Family Center for Special Collections. Two of them are housed in the University Archives; two are housed in the Rare Books collection. Request them via the Aeon request system

 

Basketball

 

  • Lazenby, Roland. Georgetown: The Championships & Thompson. Full Court Press, 1985

    Published in celebration of Georgetownn’s 1984 NCAA National Championship win. Includes photographs and foreword by William Peter Blatty

 

  • Reagan, John. Georgetown University basketball vault : the history of the Hoyas. Atlanta, GA : Whitman Pub, 2010

    In additional to coverage of Georgetown’s more memorable games, this book includes historic photographs, artwork and memorabilia from the University Archives, including reproductions of game programs, historic tickets which are tucked into pockets through the book

 

Crew

 

 

Football

 

  • Beale, Morris A.  The Georgetown Hoyas: The Story of a Rambunctious Football Team.  Columbia Publishing Company : Washington, D.C., 1947

    Arranged in chronological order by season. Includes an appendix listing of every Georgetown player through 1947 and an appendix listing every coach. A small number of illustrations are included

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy