Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Books on Georgetown University History

This guide presents an overview of books on Georgetown University history which are often useful starting points for research projects

Photographic Histories

 

The following books present historic and more contemporary photographs of Georgetown University 's campus, buildings, and academic and student life. Where they are available in the general collection of Lauinger Library, links to their call numbers are included. They are all available in the University Archives. The Archives' copies do not circulate; request them via the Aeon request system.

 

  • Barringer, George M.; Reynolds, Jon K. Georgetown University : a pictorial review. Washington : Georgetown University Alumni Association, 1976

    Includes 148 pages of black and white photographs from the University Archives. These  show key administrators and various aspects of academic and student life

 

  • Llewellyn, Robert. Georgetown : meditation on a bicentennial.  Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 1989 

    Color photographs taken to celebrate the University’s bicentennial in 1988-1989, with introductory text by President Timothy Healy, S.J. 

 

  • Little, Leslie J. Georgetown icons.  Omaha : Icon Images, 2010

    This is a book of mainly images. Some of these were commissioned for the publication, others were sourced from the University Archives. The book is housed in the Rare Books collection and is available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections; request it via the Aeon request system

 

  • O'Neill, Paul R. Georgetown University. Charleston, S.C. : Arcadia Publishing, 2003. Second edition published in 2020 is available in the University Archives

    Black and white photographs arranged chronologically, accompanied by with explanatory captions

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy