Guides: Aging and Health: Books and Articles

HoyaSearch

Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch!

Articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Contains full text for nearly 400 journals indexed in CINAHL including Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, International Nursing Review, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, and many more.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) Ultimate database provides full text access to over 1,000 journals related to nursing and allied health. Subjects include ambulatory care nursing, cardiovascular nursing, critical care nursing, occupational therapy, pediatric nursing, physical therapy, and psychiatric nursing. Access is provided courtesy of Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Selected journals are also indexed in the areas of consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.