Business Information Consultant (BIC)
202 687-7495
Where to Publish Your Non-Scholarly Non-Fiction Articles
Finding the right place to publish requires you to answer these GAPS questions:
Genre - What type of nonfiction do you want to write? What are the features of that genre?
Audience - Who are you writing for? Who gets your insights: your hometown or industry leaders?
Purpose - What are you trying to achieve in the text? Persuade, argue, advise, or inform?
Style - Is the text formal or informal? Relaxed or serious in tone? Simple or complex?
Nonfiction writing includes personal essays, call to action, reviews, humor, memoir, history, commentary, journalism, travel writing, food writing, biography, politics, and other general topics found in non-scholarly outlets.
- Why do you want to publish?
|
Outlet |
Control |
Visibility |
Effort |
Career |
Money |
Target |
Timely |
|
Newspapers |
2 |
4 |
3 |
2 |
2 |
1 |
4 |
|
Trade |
4 |
2 |
4 |
5 |
4 |
5 |
3 |
|
Popular |
3 |
5 |
2 |
4 |
5 |
2 |
3 |
|
Blogs |
5 |
3 |
5 |
2 |
1 |
3 |
5 |
|
Scholarly |
1 |
3 |
1 |
3 |
1 |
4 |
1 |
1-negative 5- positive
|
|
Scholarly Journals |
Trade Publications (Industry Magazines) or Blogs |
Popular Magazines or Newspapers or Social Media |
|
Appearance (Cover) |
Plain |
Exciting industry-specific scenes |
Flashy |
|
Appearance (Inside) |
Black and white with few pictures |
Colorful with pictures |
Colorful with many pictures |
|
Purpose |
To report research findings and build on the academic literature |
To help professionals keep up with changes in their field (new products and trends) |
To inform, entertain and grab your interest |
|
Audience |
Researchers and professionals |
Professionals |
Regular people |
|
Author |
Researchers, usually associated with a university |
Professionals in a field (dentists, law enforcement officers and HVAC professionals) |
Journalists
|
|
Title |
Sounds “academic” and usually includes the word “journal” - New England Journal of Medicine - Journal of Clinical Child Psychology |
Sounds “professional”. May include the word “journal” in the title but does not look like a journal. - Massage Today - Community College Journal - Foodservice Equipment & Supplies |
Short title that usually sounds general or “fun”. - New York Times (newspaper) - Washington Post (newspaper) - People (magazine) - Time (magazine) |
|
Advertisements |
None |
Industry-specific ads (kitchen equipment, massage tables and dental hygiene instruments) |
Flashy ads for products that would interest most people (cars, food and clothes) |
|
Editing Process |
Peer Review |
Basic editing |
Basic editing |
|
Pros |
Reliable, high-quality academic research |
Easier to read and more current than scholarly journals |
Newspapers are printed daily and magazines usually monthly |
|
Cons |
Peer review process takes time, so articles may take months to publish |
Written by professionals in the field but does not go through an extensive editing process |
Not very reliable and could include opinions. Some newspapers and magazines are better than others (Wall Street Journal and National Enquirer) |
- Learn about CopyrightTo be a writer know your rights.
- Georgetown University Writing Center"The Georgetown University Writing Center is a free writing resource open to all Georgetown students. Graduate and undergraduate students trained in teaching writing are available to assist you at any stage of your writing process. The Writing Center offers assistance in topic development, general organization, guidance on paper revisions, and specific or recurring structural problems with writing."
Non-scholarly Publications from Georgetown
- Common Home
"Common Home is an online magazine edited by Georgetown students that explores the broad topics around environment and sustainability. Through our expert guest contributors and student journalists, we nurture an interdisciplinary approach to share stories as interconnected as our planet... Common Home is the result of collaboration, interdisciplinary exchange and storytelling. We need you to make this a reality, and we’re always glad to hear from you. Contact us with questions about the magazine, pitches for story, your latest news update for the community or an idea you think should garner wider visibility."
- All ProQuestSteps:
1. Type in your topic in the search box
2. Under "Source Type" choose More, then select: Newspapers; Trade Journals; Magazines; and Blogs, Podcasts, & Websites
3. Under "Publication Title" choose Show More and see which titles are mentioned more frequently.
4. Search the Internet for those favorite titles - All EBSCOSteps:
1. Type in your topic in the search box
2. Under "Source Type" choose Show More, then select: Trade Publications, Magazines, News, and Electronic Resources
3. Under "Publication" choose Show More, see which titles are mentioned more frequently.
4. Search the Internet for those favorite titles - Factiva (mainly business & industry)Steps:
1. Type in your topic in the search box
2. Under "Sources" click on + (plus sign)
3. Under "Sources" see which titles are mentioned more frequently.
4. Search the Internet for those favorite titles
Then search the web: How do I publish in ____________ magazine?
Writer's Market by Call Number: Ref Desk PN 161 .W83ISBN: 9780593188194"It guides you through the process with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, including listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections. These listings feature contact and submission information to help writers get their work published. Beyond the listings, you'll find all-new material devoted to the business and promotion of writing."
Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2021Call Number: Ref Desk PN 12 .W8ISBN: 1472968166Publication Date: 2020-09-29United Kingdom's equivalent to Writer's Market. This book has advice, inspiration, and practical guidance on how to get published.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media by ISBN: 9781414487960Publication Date: 2015-02-13Researchers seeking descriptions, contact information and advertising rates on print/online and broadcast media worldwide will find all the data they need in this invaluable resource. Each edition contains approximately 55,000 listings for radio and television stations, cable companies and print/online media companies as well as more than 14,300 international entries. Includes phone and fax numbers; e-mail addresses and Web site URLs; listing of key personnel; and much more.
Editor & Publisher Newspaper DatabookCall Number: Ref Desk Z 6941 E3 parts 1 and 2Publication Date: 2015Lists of daily and weekly newspapers by geography.
- Medium.com"Everyone's Welcome"
- Popular magazine finder in AmazonOnce you have identified the title, go to its website.
- Creative Nonfiction magazineWonderful place to start
Read the Author or Submissions Instructions when pitching an article/story
- Get familiar with the source for tone and style. Find back issues in library database.
- READ author instructions
- If no author instructions. Reach out to editors with your idea by writing a "one-page" query letter. (Editor's name, idea/synopsis, sample, contact info), Add at least a 2-week deadline for them to respond before you send it out again.
- READ the contract (everything is negotiable, copyrights, fees, etc.).
- Keep a record of all permissions and research.
- When it comes out, promote to friends and family.
Learn more about the tone and audience of the publication.
Search: "media kit" _________ [name of publication]
example: "media kit" "progressive grocer"
- How a Freelance Writer Should Submit an Article to a Magazine"Freelance writers can decide between submitting a finished article or a query letter to an editor. These days most editors prefer a one-page query letter, usually emailed. But before you pitch any article, you must know what magazines publish your topic."
- Freelance Writer's GuidelinesOver 700 links to author guidelines
- Writer's Cooperative Advice"Publications to Pitch (And They Pay!):
My personal collection of bookmarked pitching and submission instructions for some popular publications."
- Literary Marketplace (book publishing)Call Number: Ref. Desk PN 161 .L5Publication Date: 2015"... directory of the American & Canadian book publishing industry covers publishers, literary agents,manufacturers, and shipping services. Volume 1 contains core publishing industry information: publishers, agents, associations, events, courses & awards, and trade books & magazines. Volume 2 contains information on service providers and suppliers to the publishing industry: advertising, marketing, manufacturing, sales & distribution."
- Scholarly Communications & Copyright at Georgetown UniversityThese pages offer the Georgetown community resources for making informed decisions about how and where to publish your research and scholarship to ensure that it will have the greatest possible impact and reach.
Publishing opportunities from Georgetown
- Gnovis Journal"Gnovis is a unique platform within the larger scholarly community of Georgetown University. It is an academic platform that publishes and promotes interdisciplinary research that explores topics at the nexus of technology, communication and culture.
For the past 23 years Gnovis publishes annual peer-reviewed scholarly journal." - Georgetown Scientific Research Journal (GSR Journal))GSR Journal aims to publish academic level research within the Georgetown community in order to promote the scientific accomplishments of the student body, foster inclusion within the science community and interest within research-based careers, encourage diversity within the research field, grant more visibility of student authorship, and increase awareness of groundbreaking scientific discoveries within the community.
About Predatory Journals
Scholarly Publications that accept undergraduate submissions
Interested in using generative AI tools like ChatGPT and Elicit?
*Reminder: Check your syllabus or ask your professor before using generative AI tools for an assignment.*
 AI Tools Can be Helpful With: |
 Be More Cautious with AI Tools if You: |
|
|---|---|---|
| Writing Models | Need very recent information | |
| Suggesting Synonyms | Do not have previous knowledge of a topic | |
| Copy Editing | Are concerned about potential plagiarism or copyright violations | |
| Brainstorming | Need to perform complex mathematics | |
| Summarizing* | Are unsure if you're permitted to use AI tools in your research or writing | |
| Translation | Are concerned about the electrical energy use in running these tools |
*Be aware of the copyright restrictions of any content you upload to an AI tool.
For more information on using generative AI resources in your research, visit our Research Guide.
| AI Tools | Crafting Prompts | Citing AI Tools | Campus Policies |
