Guides: International Relations/Foreign Policy/SFS: Statistics and Data

Research Methods & Data Analysis Help

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) has tools for every step of the research process in the social sciences, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SRM includes reference entries for hundreds of research methods, over 1,000 books providing in-depth treatments on using various methods, and cases, datasets, and short video demonstrating and applying methods in scholarship.
Sage Research Methods includes:
Sage Research Methods: Foundations - brief but expert introductions to hundreds of research methods.
Sage Research Methods: Cases - 2,000 case studies of real research projects*
Sage Research Methods: Datasets - 500 datasets offering hands-on practice of methods and techniques*
*not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.

Digital Scholarship (Georgetown)
Learn how to use diverse digital technology to carry out research and share it with others. Research consultations are also available.

Data Analysis
by Abby Scheetz Last Updated Nov 12, 2024 6394 views this year
Data Sets & Statistics
by Lauinger Reference Last Updated Aug 13, 2024 1092 views this year
Economic Data
by Lauinger Reference Last Updated Aug 13, 2024 439 views this year

International Data Resources

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.
OECD.Stat This link opens in a new window
OECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researchers Dataset This link opens in a new window
Composite rankings of variables related to political, financial, and economic risk in 140 countries. We have Tables 2B ("Four Key Risk Ratings") and 3B/3BA ("Political Risk Points by Component/Subcomponent"). Data through April 2019.

UN Data
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
more...less...
The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added.
Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.
World Development Indicators (WDI) from World Bank
WDI includes demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, 1960-present.
International Monetary Fund Data Portal
Repository of IMF data products including World Economic Outlook, International Financial Statistics, Global Financial Stability Report, and more.

Terrorism and Conflict Data

ITERATE (International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events) This link opens in a new window
Detailed data about terrorist events worldwide, starting in 1968. 'The ITERATE project is an attempt to quantify data on the characteristics of transnational terrorist groups, their activities which have international impact, and the environment in which they operate.'

Correlates of War Project
Source data on the conditions associated with outbreak of war and militarized disputes. Includes data sets, and also articles and other secondary data sources
Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC)
The Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC) identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide.
Global Terrorism Database
The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism—better known as START - is a university-based research center committed to the scientific study of the causes and human consequences of terrorism in the United States and around the world.
Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) data sets
The Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) was established to coordinate and integrate information resources produced and used by the Center for Systemic Peace.
Uppsala Conflict Database
Data on armed conflicts, trends, and peace agreements.
United Nations Register of Conventional Arms
UN member states listing of export and import of conventional arms. Data shows military holdings and procurements.
World military expenditures and arms transfers
From the U.S. Department of State: The "World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers" (WMEAT) series of reports is designed to be a convenient reference on annual military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, selected economic data, and relative indicators consisting of pertinent military-economic ratios.