Guides: Global Hospitality Leadership: Industry & Company Information

Industry Information/ Reports

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- US Business Environment Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Passport This link opens in a new window
formerly Global Market Information Database
Global in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies. Print equivalents include Standard & Poor's: 'Stock Reports,' 'Company Profiles,' 'Bond Guide,' 'Corporation Records,' 'Mutual Fund Reports,' 'Security Dealers of North America,' 'Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives,' 'Industry Surveys,' and 'The Outlook.'
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
In advanced search options under "Publication Type," select "Industry Profile."
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.

Hotels & Resorts
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) market research handbooks focus on various consumer-related markets. Each of these comprehensive assessments includes market forecasts, sector trends, and statistics.
Industry Snapshots
"Key Economic Census data for all industries and geographic areas are available in a consolidated file."

Company Profiles/ Reports

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel. Available to Georgetown alumni.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Georgetown users must create a free account using their Georgetown email address. Once you have an account, you can access the database content.
The source for financial data on major privately-held companies. From elusive private financials and revenues to private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, private and family ownership breakdowns, and more.
Company Dossier (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Company Dossier covers more than 35 million global companies, both public and private. Under Reference link, information comes from Hoover's, Disclosure, Datamonitor, Extel, Vickers, and SGA Executive Tracker.
Includes company description and history; key financials; executive, structure, subsidiaries, auditor, and bank information news by region, topic and publication; patents, trademarks, and brands; and litigation.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries

Overview of Industry Classification

Developed in the 1930s, the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code is a 4-digit scheme that organizes 1,004 industries. Some 400 of these are services.

Developed in 1997, the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS), is a six-digit scheme that organizes 1,170 industries, of which 565 are services. Many of the NAICS industries emerged over the past 20 years.

For more information, see: The Development of NAICS

NAICS Codes - Hospitality Management

The North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) defines the following codes for various aspects of the hospitality industry:

561510 Travel agencies

561529 Travel tour operators
561599 Automobile clubs, road and travel services

713210 Casinos (except casino hotels)
721110 Hotels (except casino hotels)

721110 Hotels (except casino hotels) with golf courses, tennis courts, and/or other health spa facilities (i.e., resorts)
721110 Hotels, membership
721110 Hotels, resort, without casinos
721110 Hotels, seasonal, without casinos
721110 Membership hotels
721110 Motor hotels without casinos
7211110 Resort hotels without casinos
72110 Seasonal hotels without casinos
721110 Summer resort hotels without casinos

721120 Casino hotels

721120 Hotels, casino
721120 Hotels, resort, with casinos
721120 Hotels, seasonal, with casinos
721120 Resort hotels with casinos

722110 Restaurants

722110 Family restaurants, full service
722110 Fine dining restaurants, full service
722110 Full service restaurants
722110 Restaurants, full service

722211 Carryout restaurants

722211 Delicatessen restaurants
722211 Drive-in restaurants
722211 Family restaurants, limited-service
722211 Fast-food restaurants
722211 Restaurants, carryout
722211 Restaurants, fast-food

Scope notes within NAICS (below) will indicate which are most appropriate.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

SIC Codes - Hospitality Management

The Standard Industry Classification Manual (SIC) defines the following codes for various aspects of the hospitality industry:

701 Hotels and Motels
703 Camps and Recreational Vehicle Parks
704 Organization Hotels and and Lodging Houses, On a Membership Basis
581 Eating and Drinking Places

5812 Eating Places
5813 Drinking Places

472 Arrangement of Passenger Transportation

4724 Travel Agencies
4725 Tour Operators
4729 Arrangement of Passenger Transportation, Not Elsewhere Classified

Scope notes within the Standard Industry Classification Manual(below) will indicate which are most appropriate.

Standard Industry Classification (SIC) Manual