Guides: Australia and New Zealand Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Documents relating to the European settlement of Africa, North America, Central America, Australia, and New Zealand, including maps, exploration diaries, diplomatic correspondence, and business records.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents on women's suffrage, feminism, gender history, and more from the late 1800s to early 2000s, digitized from several libraries in the UK, USA, Canada, and Australia.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 is a retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.

Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
You may use this online primary source to trace texts, films, audio and websites.

Index to United Nations National Security Council Documents
The index was produced in 1994. It was up-to-date through the 1994 publication of the National Security products.
Flickr Commons
This free Flickr Commons provides primary sources in the format of photographs and prints.
Hathi Trust
This online primary source site provides access to digitized books.