Asian History

Digitized and searchable issues of the Times of India, the nation's oldest English-language newspaper still in publication. Coverage is from 1838-2010.

References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.

Full image and full text, each week The Current Digest of the Chinese Press presents a digestible collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. Articles are selected from a wide variety of sources in China, all of which are explicitly targeted on a domestic – not foreign – audience. Each article is carefully translated into English, with great attention given to conveying "the sense and spirit" of the Chinese text. The Current Digest of the Chinese Press provides a comprehensive, broad-survey understanding of current events as reported by mass media in the People’s Republic of China, offering readers, regardless of Chinese language ability, a much clearer (if more complex) view of the current Chinese reality.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism is an online dictionary on Buddhism with entries in a variety of languages, Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Sanskrit. It provides a convenient entry mode to a comprehensive list of Buddhism-related terms with good cross-referencing. It is an unreplaceable reference tool for students of Buddhism and art history of East Asia.

English Interface
Simplified Chinese Interface
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. See information icon for full database description.

Statistical data at the national, provincial (31), county (over 2000), and city (over 700) level. The Website contains annual macroeconomic, industry, and socioeconomic data, with some monthly data. A few market research reports and trade data (in Chinese). Authorized by the Chinese National Bureau of Statistics. Georgetown only has access to the information under China Statistics and Statistical Yearbook (i.e. nothing under Census Data, Census Map & Report, Survey Data, etc.).

读秀 is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. It searches journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and books, and yields relevant pages for reading.

TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.

This database includes archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities. Contents include National Policies (2001- present), Regional Policies (2001- present), Speeches/Publications of Ministerial/Provincial Officers (2004- present), National/Provincial/Ministerial Government Annual Statements (1983- present), Foreign Minister's Spokesperson's Statements & Speeches (1997- present), and Foreign Minister's Press Conference (2001- present). With the National People’s Congress and the National Committee of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference as its sources, the database provides official, authoritative research information on the Chinese government and other political issues in China.
The database is updated monthly or in a real time manner.

People's Daily - Renmin Ribao is China's national newspaper. The database archives the newspaper since the first issue in 1946.

The Global Times is a daily newspaper produced under the auspices of the official Chinese Communist Party newspaper, the People's Daily, the Communist Party’s official mouthpiece, focusing on international issues and foreign affairs. Publication started in January 1993, the current circulation is over 2 million, with more than 500 correspondents and journalists throughout the world.

The largest and earliest English-language national newspaper published in Japan covering both the country and the world. Digital archive covers from 1865-1866 and 1897 to the present. Also includes the archive of the Japan Advertiser (1913-1940), which merged with the Japan Times in 1940.

Digitized issues of Contemporary Japan: A Review of Far Eastern Affairs from 1932 to 1970. The journal contains English translations of important speeches by Japanese authors, political figures, and other leaders of Japanese society.

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (formerly Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries) is a news retrieval service from the publisher of Japan’s second largest circulation newspaper, Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞. Coverage includes over 8,000,000 full-text articles from 1945 to the present. Eight (8) simultaneous accesses are shared among the consortium of currently ten (10) participating institutions.

Limited to 1 concurrent user. Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.

Limited to 4 concurrent users.

JapanKnowledge Lib is an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan.

Searchable full-text databases from over 200 Korean journals in various disciplines.

Covers exclusive daily news, in-depth investigations, expert interviews and analysis by impressive number of top experts such as scholars, journalists, and North Korean refugees on North Korea-related issues ranging from everyday life in North Korea to tensions over nuclear weapons. Powerful data tools allow for analysis of historical analysis of news releases. Also includes a Korean and Japanese media monitoring tool, a tracker for the North Korean leadership, and a live stream of Korea Central Television. Includes access to NK Pro.

Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles by over 300,000 authors, covering all subject areas.

Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.

Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.

A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.

The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

See WDI Online.

See ProQuest Political Science