Catholic Studies

The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.

With more regular church goers in the UK than the Anglican church, Roman Catholicism has moved out of the ghetto imposed upon it since the English Reformation and proved its staying power. It is also the fastest growing denomination, particularly in Latin America.

John Hardon's comprehensive, one-volume work of reference defining the key terms of Catholicism; updated to include the most recent developments in the Catholic Church. Clear, concise, and faithful, with over 2,000 entries, Catholic Dictionary is the essential Catholic lexicon in the areas of faith, worship, morals, history, theology, and spirituality. Now revised to include the statements of Pope Benedict XVI and Pope John Paul II, new movements and devotions, and other recent developments within Catholicism, this edition brings the legacy of Father Hardon into the contemporary era. A worthy companion to Catechism of the Catholic Church and Scott Hahn's Catholic Bible Dictionary, this book is an essential resource for the Catholic reader.

Catholicism has a deep, rich history that dates back centuries upon centuries. But sometimes it's hard to keep all that information straight. The Essential Guide to Catholic Terms is a handy, thorough, complete reference for all things Catholic. Written in simple, direct language appropriate for children of various stages of faith formation, The Essential Guide of Catholic Terms offers the detail-rich stories and phrases that we use to teach and understand our faith. A handy resource for parents and teachers, every Catholic home and classroom would not be complete without this fundamental resource.

MORE THAN 2500 ENTRIES BASED ON 1,000 PLUS SOURCES. AN EASY-TO-USE ALPHABETICAL FORMAT AND A READER FRIENDLY STYLE. INCLUDES A COMPLETE INDEX, A CHRONOLGOY AND A GLOSSARY. CROSS REFERENCES FOR FINDING ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Consecrated Phraseshas been a standard and valued reference work for theology students for many years. This new third edition is expanded by more than fifty percent from the previous edition. It includes many new entries, while entries from earlier editions have been expanded and extensively cross-referenced. The resulting volume functions better as a reliable guide to translation and a primer on the tradition out of which the consecrated phrases arose. The third edition contains many entries from canon and civil law, as well as terms from philosophy and theology. While Latin has often been called a dead language," Consecrated Phrasesdemonstrates convincingly that the tradition continues not just to live but to thrive. This book will aid generations of students yet to come in understanding, appropriating, and developing the best of that tradition.

No matter who you are, this Catholic guide is an invaluable reference. Keep a copy on hand to answer questions you may have from time to time about your faith, or rediscover the faith by reading it straight through. It is the quintessential compact guidebook to all of the basic tenets of Catholicism. The first section covers the doctrines of the Roman Catholic Church & keys each to the comprehensive Catechism of the Catholic Church for those who wish a more detailed presentation. The second section presents the Church's practices, including among other topics, the commandments, holy days of obligation, the corporal & spiritual works of mercy, the cycle of the liturgy, & directions for emergency baptism & the preparation for sick calls. The third section contains more than 35 prayers, including the Stations of the Cross, the Rosary, Benediction of the Most Blessed Sacrament, as well as the Order of Mass, morning & evening prayers, & prayers for peace among others. A fourth section describes the life of Catholics in a post-Vatican II era, giving guides to action for Catholics as well as principles for interfaith understanding. The fifth section summarizes the documents of Vatican II. The sixth section, an alphabetical glossary ranging from "abba" to "zeal," provides the most essential definitions of Catholic terms & topics. Have you ever wondered which day is a particular saint's day? Section seven includes a day-by-day calendar for more than 365 saints, along with other patronages where appropriate. Altogether these sections form an accessible presentation of Catholic faith & an ideal companion to the Catechism.

The Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology provides a one-volume introduction to all the major aspects of Catholic theology. Part One considers the nature of theological thinking, and the major topics of Catholic teaching, including the Triune God, the Creation, and the mission of the Incarnate Word. It also covers the character of the Christian sacramental life and the major themes of Catholic moral teaching. The treatments in the first part of the Handbook offer personal syntheses of Catholic teaching, but each offers an account in accord with Catholic theology as it is expressed in the Second Vatican Council and authoritative documentation. Part Two focuses on the historical development of Catholic Theology. An initial section offers essays on some of Catholic theology's most important sources between 200 and 1870, and the final section of the collection considers all the main movements and developments in Catholic theology across the world since 1870.This comprehensive volume features fifty-six original contributions by some of the best-known names in current Catholic theology from the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Africa. The chapters are written in an engaging and easily comprehensible style functioning both as a scholarly reference and as a survey of the field. There are no comparable studies available in one volume and the book will be an indispensable reference for students of Catholic theology at all levels and in all contexts.

John O'Grady explores the origins of many revered Catholic beliefs and traditions in this comprehensive volume. Erudite yet approachable, this book appeals to both scholars seeking a unified vision of the Catholic church in all its diversity, as well as to spiritual seekers (whether Catholic or not) exploring the deeper nature of Catholicism and its practices over the past two millennia. The significant divergence in practices and beliefs within the Catholic Church both as it exists today (inclusive of the 22 Eastern Catholic Churches outside the Roman Church), and as it has developed over two millennia, surely suggests the difficulties the author faced in producing a cogent and unified work. But despite these problems, success was achieved. Indeed, the author believes that diversity actually contributes to unity and continues the perfection of the one Church of Jesus Christ.The book contains dozens of discussion and study questions which may be used for either group discussion or personal reflection.+

The bestselling Catholicism has now been revised and updated for an eagerly-anticipated second edition. This lucid and accessible account explains how Roman Catholicism and its beliefs and practices came to be what they are. Renowned scholars Gerald O'Collins and Mario Farrugia move through history to sum up the present characteristics of Catholic Christianity and the major challenges it faces in the third millennium. Clear and engaging, the authors present matters in a fresh and original way. They skilfully depict the Catholic heritage and show that Catholicism is a dynamic and living faith. O'Collins and Farrugia engage with contemporary moral issues and explore the challenges which Catholics and other Christians must face. This is an authoritative, lively, and up-to-date introduction to Catholicism for the twenty-first century.

The Oxford Handbook of Vatican II is a rich source of information and reflections on many aspects of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965), one of the most significant religious events of the twentieth century. The chapters introduce readers to the historical context and outstanding features of the conciliar event, and its principal teachings on Scripture and Tradition, the church, liturgy, religious liberty, ecumenism, interreligious dialogue, church-world relations, and mission. Consideration is given to some neglected aspects of the council, including: the forgotten papal speeches that lay out its fundamental orientation and ought to guide its interpretation; the presence and contributions of women; and the non-reception of the council among Catholic traditionalists. Ecumenical scholars reflect on the significance of Vatican II for the life of other Christian churches and the search for Christian unity; others examine Catholic dialogue with other religious traditions. Surveying the diverse receptions of the council in the perspective of a world church, chapters focusing on Asia, Africa, Latin America, North America, Oceania, and Europe reflect on the interpretation and influence of the council and its teaching on the life of the church in diverse cultural contexts. This Handbook will serve as a valuable guide to one of the most important events and bodies of Catholic teaching since the Protestant Reformation and the Council of Trent in the sixteenth century, to the interpretation of the council's teaching, and to its continuing role in guiding the life of the church in the twenty-first century. .