Anacostia River Watershed
Organizations
- DC Water: "Protecting Our Water to Preserve Our Future" Links to environmental programs of DC Water.
Articles & Books
Anacostia: The Death & Life of an American River
An Unspoiled Waterway teeming with fish, its shores a virtual paradise, the Anacostia River figured prominently in the original plans for the new nation's elegant, bustling capital. Instead it quickly became a poster child for America's tragically neglected and abused urban waterways. With a clear eye and sharp pen, accomplished environmental historian John R. Wennersten takes an unsparing look at the historic forces and misguided policies that all but ruined a beautiful river while imposing the burden of pollution unequally on Washington's poorer citizens. Anacostia offers a much needed corrective to the uncritical assumptions of growth for its own sake and the cost it imposes on our waters, our natural resources, and the health of our citizenry. It also demonstrates how thoughtless destruction can be stopped, and rivers restored. Book jacket.
Call Number: F 202 .A5 W46 2008
Finding Books, Government Documents, More:
- HoyaSearch (GU + Consortium + Articles)
- Try: Anacostia River, urban ecology, sustainable development, water resources...
Finding Articles:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Limited to 5 concurrent users. Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
- Congressional Research Digital Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text Congressional Research Service reports since 1916 and selected full text of committee prints since 1830. The CRS produces nonpartisan research reports from its research divisions in American law, domestic social policy, foreign affairs, defense and trade, government and finance, knowledge services, and resources, science and industry. Committee prints include research papers, reports, rules and calendars, transcripts of markup sessions, and legislative descriptions and analyses.
