Contact Manuscripts Archivist
The manuscripts collections below in the Georgetown University Special Collections concern the Lincoln assassination.
David Rankin Barbee papers
Collection Description: David Rankin Barbee was a journalist and historian in the early 20th century who amassed a large collection of materials concerning the Lincoln assassination. Date Span: 1886-1956. Extent: 25 linear feet.
Margaret Bearden papers
Collection Description: The Margaret Bearden papers contain correspondence, manuscripts, printed materials, tape recordings of lectures, and slides collected and produced by Bearden, a Lincoln assassination scholar. There are two parts to her personal papers. Date Span: 1944-1999.
Eugene Boss collection
Collection Description: Dr. Eugene Boss collected Lincoln ephemera. His collection amounts to three boxes of materials: 1.5 linear feet.
James O. Hall papers
Collection Description: Contains materials documenting James O. Hall's investigation of controversial issues surrounding the Lincoln assassination. Date Span: 1980-2004. Extent: 0.75 linear feet.
Alfred Isacsson papers
Collection Description: Research materials of Alfred Isacsson, a scholar of the Lincoln assassination. Date Span: 1940-2009. Extent: 2.5 linear feet.
Richard D. Mudd papers
Collection Description: Dr. Richard D. Mudd, grandson of Samuel A. Mudd, generated a massive amount of research files in an attempt to fully vindicate the name of his grandfather. Richard D. Mudd earned four degrees from Georgetown University. Date Span: 1950-1990. Extent: 52.5 linear feet.
E.H. Swaim papers
Collection Description: The E.H. Swaim papers document Swaim's research into the claim that John Wilkes Booth was not killed at Garrett's farm but somehow escaped and died in Oklahoma. Date Span: 1893-1980. Extent: 7 linear feet.
Special Collections Exhibit: "A Look Back at the Lincoln Assassination and the Conspirators"
Books
Article Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowPrimary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center contains both primary sources and scholarly research on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself, including: the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals [IIBP]), the full text of the Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowOne of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.
Archival Research at the Georgetown University Library Booth Family Center for Special Collecitons
Archival Research in General
Poem: "The Nation Mourns"
Poem
Eugene Boss collection
Photograph of Ford's Theatre
Ford's Theatre
Eugene Boss collection
