Guides: CHN459: Chinese Senior Seminar: Data &amp; Statistics

Data

China Data Online
Statistical data at the national, provincial (31), county (over 2000), and city (over 700) level. The Website contains annual macroeconomic, industry, and socioeconomic data, with some monthly data. A few market research reports and trade data (in Chinese). Authorized by the Chinese National Bureau of Statistics. Georgetown only has access to the information under China Statistics and Statistical Yearbook (i.e. nothing under Census Data, Census Map & Report, Survey Data, etc.).
OECD Data Explorer

Contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
OECD Publications
Formerly called OECD iLibrary.
Free access to the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.
IMF Data

To query data, follow these instructions.
A portal to all IMF datasets, including International Financial Statistics (IFS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP, World and Regional Aggregates), Financial Access Survey (FAS), Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS), Coordinated Portfolio Investment Survey (CPIS) and Climate Change Indicator Dashboard. You can search a combination of 308 countries, regions, and NGOs. Contains 7325 economic concepts. Covers 1948-present. Freely available.
IMF eLibrary
eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Freely available as of Jan 2020.
World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.

The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added.
Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.